govind4873
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:38 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:44 pm

boberthemage wrote:
Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:58 am
I am having a similar problem with my RPi 3 model B. It USED to work, but now i have a No Signal screen! I am using a HANNS-G computer monitor with a HDMI-DVI adaptor. My SD has NOOBS. I used these same devices when my RPi worked. I bought another SD, put NOOBS on it, but now I am having this problem.
I tried everything above (except Noobs Lite) and there is no "Config" file, probably because I am using NOOBS. And by the way, I don't want to have to purchase anything else.
ya same issue i dont have config file in it and should i try lite now

chitzui
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:39 pm

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
can also be added via command line. Just write

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
then reboot

Code: Select all

sudo reboot
and you’re good to go!

Mechatronicsman
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:03 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:16 pm

For me it hasn't worked to uncomment hdmi_force_hotplug=1. I think it will not work for everyone whos using a dvi Adaptor for his monitor.
You have to Type

hdmi_drive=1

in the config.txt data, then it will work. I''ve tried all other options, but this is the only one, that's working.

Alia Khalid
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:05 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:10 am

I have the same issue but my os in rasp is also not installed so I cant see config.txt file. What do I do?

bertrodgerseh
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Thu May 03, 2018 8:02 pm

Hi,
I solved by plugging my pi zero w into a smaller HMDI screen.
seemingly the pi zeros do not have enough power.

if config.txt does not exist you can create if you load SD on another computer.
however i did this and added the hotplug code and it did not fit.

monitor that did not work was 22 inch LG IPS LED
one that did work 7inch HDMI screen.

Best of luck. :D

User avatar
sayhello
Posts: 86
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:34 pm

hi there

i also got stuck with such an error _

the question is: how (!!!! ) can i edit the line

viewtopic.php?t=34061 presume, you have installed your selected OS on SD card. Boot sector of the SD card is normally accessible from Windows, so you can edit file config.txt. What you maybe need? Add into config.txt this line:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

that is the question...

dave_b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:39 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:44 am

Without access to the monitor, I was able to fix this way:
- SSH into the Pi from another PC on your network
- Navigate to the boot directory
- sudo nano config.txt
- add the line hdmi_force_hotplug=1
- save, exit, reboot

doppler
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:51 pm

Nightmare after doing an inplace dist-upgrade to debian buster.
Upon reboot hdmi video was gone absolutely gone.

What did the trick was: hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in config.txt

Now this is also a problem with berryboot. AKA: WD disc drive units.
If berryboot will not proceed in booting. A re-image of the berry boot
SD code is in order. Go thru the normal process. BUT PICK THE OLD
PARTITION. In other words, use existing data. Then all is well.

hdmi_force_hotplug=1 maybe required in the berry boot code.
Just add it to the end in the [ALL] section.

Search words for others:
Debian berryboot buster dist-upgrade config.txt hdmi_force_hotplug=1
no video rainbow monitor

robinwilson16
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:19 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Fri Jul 26, 2019 12:05 pm

I have the same issue but my PI will output video only if the PI is booted with the TV turned off and then once it is booted I turn the TV on/connect the HDMI cable.
If I boot the PI with the TV connected then I see the multicoloured square then the raspberries at the top-left of the screen followed by a welcome screen for about 1 second then the TV goes to no signal.
However if I boot the PI first then switch on the TV it displays fine without even making any config changes (or with them made).

The idea was to run this headless and be powered by the TV power supply and this issue prevents this being possible. Are there any solutions to this? It is a 4K TV. I'm guessing it is switching to a mode that is unsupported. I tried commands to export the display and set a resolution but I had to Ctrl+C as the command just sat there and nothing happened.

Is there any workaround as none of the config changes listed here have made a difference?

Thanks
Robin

robinwilson16
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2019 2:19 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Fri Jul 26, 2019 12:19 pm

I have now solved my issue. I had to use a more powerful power supply so it seems maybe the less powerful power supplies have issues displaying output at higher resolutions so presumably it was detecting a 4K display and attempting to change resolution and then not having enough power whereas if powered on first before attaching the monitor it is in a lower resolution so worked.

Hope it helps others.
Robin

Hhlupize
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:29 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:41 am

#newbie here.
Just got my pi 4 model B 4 gig RAM, and i had video initially. On first boot up I had video, and was able to choose what inatal I wanted. I chose the full rasbian option and since then Ive had no video since. Ive uncommented the- hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in config.txt but to no avail. Im currently reformatting the sd card and putting noobs back on in hopes it works. Any ideas for a rookie?

scotty101
Posts: 3682
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Thu Aug 01, 2019 8:18 am

Hhlupize wrote:
Thu Aug 01, 2019 2:41 am
#newbie here.
Just got my pi 4 model B 4 gig RAM, and i had video initially. On first boot up I had video, and was able to choose what inatal I wanted. I chose the full rasbian option and since then Ive had no video since. Ive uncommented the- hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in config.txt but to no avail. Im currently reformatting the sd card and putting noobs back on in hopes it works. Any ideas for a rookie?
As I said on another topic
scotty101 wrote:
Thu Jul 25, 2019 10:22 am
There is a post already on this topic.

I had some success disabling the VC4-FKMS-V3D overlay
https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 6#p1488488
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

SimbaC17
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:09 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:28 am

Hay guys I've just moved into a new house and i'm trying to set up my rasberry pi 3 b. It worked fine at my old place . I'm using the same TV, cables, SD card etc. there's no problem with my HDMI cable , ive tested it by connecting my laptop to the TV. I've used 2 different rasberry pi power cables and ive tried the "hdmi_force_hotplug=1" fix in the confic.txt file but to no avail.. :x :x It keeps on showing the "No signal" banner on the smart tv screen. Id greatly appreciate any assistance!!!!

Mojso
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2018 2:28 pm

HDMI Tv says NO SIGNAL

Mon Sep 09, 2019 5:23 pm

my rasberry pi 3b plus worked great until yesterday, now shows no hdmi input.
tried hdmi_force_hotplug = 1
hdmi_safe = 1
config_hdmi_boost = 9
but it only shows a very bad image from the raspbian desktop, also no image when i load libreelec os.
i can connect with VNC and the desktop is fine but the hdmi output is not working

Return to “Beginners”