tim11pop
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:07 pm

TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:39 am

Hello All,

I'm having an issue with the TV hat and HD frequencies. using the tvheadend I'm able to tune into the 634MHz frequency and pull through the usual BBC HD frequencies.

However if I use anything else, I'm unable to tune into this frequency.

E.g. if I run the below:

scan-s2 -a 0 -o vdr -x -2 -X -U moi-634.conf where the conf file contains: T 634000000 8MHz NONE QAM256. I get a tuning error.
dvblast -f 634000000 -c bb1hd.conf -X 32 -G 128 -m qam_256 -b 8 -i 1 it loads but just hangs where it would normally tune in.

I can stream the normal SD quality channels through these without any issues.

Does anyone know how the tvheadend is tuning into the frequencies?

I've run these commands on a different tuner machine and they run nicely, I took some of the details from them to test.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35063
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:50 am

Try sudo apt update && sudo apt -y dist-upgrade

There's been some updates to the channel maps for the UK (it's because of the change to free up 5G mobile phone frequencies). apt dist-upgrade should bring in the updates for that stuff.
Note: Having anything remotely humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a hippy & doctor free zone.

tim11pop
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2013 2:07 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:55 am

Thanks for the response, think I'm all up to date from that side other than the below:
python-mote python3-mote realvnc-vnc-server realvnc-vnc-viewer

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:45 pm

Sorry Dougie, you're optimistic on that one.
The upstream for dtv-scan-tables only grabbed the new UK channel assignments on 27/9/2018. The previous settings were from Nov 2014 in our case (uk-SandyHeath)!
"apt-cache show dtv-scan-tables" says

Code: Select all

Filename: pool/main/d/dtv-scan-tables/dtv-scan-tables_0+git20161227.ac7535a-1_all.deb
so 2016. Any retunes since then will be missing.

That said, I'm not certain where tvheadend gets their settings from. I haven't had to enter details manually until this latest retune.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35063
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:03 pm

/me sits here smug that UK-Hannington's MUXes are all OK in the scan tables.

Hannington was one of only two group-E transmitters when we were analog. It needed a special aerial to get Channel 4 & Channel 5 (which were out of band compared to the other analog channels). It's all got better with DVB-T and DVB-T2 and we've been reclassified to group-B.
Note: Having anything remotely humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a hippy & doctor free zone.

jdb
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 1882
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 2:37 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:08 pm

In theory the network information table (NIT) should provide details of the frequencies/muxes on the transmitter in question. It's odd that successfully tuning to an SD signal doesn't discover the T2 multiplexes - are they considered separate networks?
Rockets are loud.
https://astro-pi.org

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:53 pm

I've emailed ShiftPlusOne and he'll be looking to update the versions of both dtv-scan-tables and tvheadend in the repos.

LibreElec is likely to be fairly close to the cutting edge anyway, so there may not be such a need if using that for tvheadend anyway.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

balanga
Posts: 111
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:56 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm

I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 19372
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: TV Hat - HD

Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:42 pm

balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....


You are not aware of the Blog Announcement from last month ??

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-tv-hat/

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=225036
Last edited by fruitoftheloom on Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
adieu

My other Computer is an Asus CS10 ChromeBit running Chrome Operating System.
HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer supported by HPLIP software in Raspbian Stretch.

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6547
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:43 pm

balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....
As noted in the blog post, no, there is no satellite version.
There are USB DVB-S2 tuners available that work with Linux, although many of them are hard to get hold of these days. See https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/ ... SB_Devices for the list of supported USB devices.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

pthagonal
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:54 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:43 pm

6by9 wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:53 pm
I've emailed ShiftPlusOne and he'll be looking to update the versions of both dtv-scan-tables and tvheadend in the repos.

LibreElec is likely to be fairly close to the cutting edge anyway, so there may not be such a need if using that for tvheadend anyway.
If at all possible, bumping dvb-tools from the current 1.12.3-1 to 1.14.2-1 or newer (sid has 1.16.1-1) could also add stability for the tv hat. I'm seeing quite a few "Error in `dvbv5-zap': double free or corruption (fasttop)" which I'm suspecting is due to the older tools.

hippy
Posts: 4908
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: TV Hat - HD

Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:35 am

balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....
Within the comments on https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-tv-hat
It requires a different chipset and cable/satellite have the complexity of encrypted streams, so not imminently, but it’s something we are thinking about.

noggin
Posts: 76
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:55 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:32 pm

jdb wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:08 pm
In theory the network information table (NIT) should provide details of the frequencies/muxes on the transmitter in question. It's odd that successfully tuning to an SD signal doesn't discover the T2 multiplexes - are they considered separate networks?
It appears there is a split (at least in TV Headend) - as TV Headend will automatically find the other DVB-T SD Muxes when it tunes to one SD Mux, (I usually just add PSB1 with Network discovery enabled), but you have to add the PSB3, COM7 and COM8 T2 muxes manually (if you don't use a pre-programmed mux list)

drgeoff
Posts: 9207
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2012 6:39 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:49 pm

BTW Poundland (UK) are selling the XBox One TV Tuner for £5. Works fine (SD and HD) with LibreElec and Tvheadend on a RPi.

jonesypeter
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2013 3:07 pm

Re: TV Hat - HD

Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:07 pm

I've had no issues with HD. We use the Crystal Palace transmitter.

Return to “HATs and other add-ons”