calleblyh
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 6:14 pm
Location: Southwest Finland

screen command not working completely

Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:48 am

I just got my first Pi4B, it is up and running Buster ofc. I have no idea how to benefit from two HDMI displays and which one is active. Is there a good tutorial how to use dual displays ? How do I install "screen for Buster" ?

Just outof curiosity
Carl / Helsinki

User avatar
scruss
Posts: 2573
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Sep 05, 2019 1:41 pm

calleblyh wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:48 am
…I have no idea how to benefit from two HDMI displays and which one is active.
I'd start a new thread, as the OP's question isn't about physical screens but a program called screen
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

User avatar
mahjongg
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 12351
Joined: Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:19 am
Location: South Holland, The Netherlands

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:49 pm

split post.

jj_0
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:07 am

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Sep 05, 2019 2:59 pm

calleblyh wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 10:48 am
I just got my first Pi4B, it is up and running Buster ofc. I have no idea how to benefit from two HDMI displays and which one is active. Is there a good tutorial how to use dual displays ? How do I install "screen for Buster" ?

Just outof curiosity
Carl / Helsinki
This might help, it should work out of the box: https://thepihut.com/blogs/raspberry-pi ... berry-pi-4

tinker2much
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:38 am

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:27 am

That tutorial works fine as far as it goes. But it doesn't explain how to change which monitor contains the menu bar, after swapping the two monitors left for right.

tinker2much
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:38 am

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:41 am

I answered my own question. To change which monitor the panel appears on, right click on it, choose "panel settings", then change the value for monitor between 1 and 2.

tinker2much
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:38 am

Re: screen command not working completely

Thu Oct 10, 2019 1:46 am

Where do I find the split post about the screen utility?

Return to “Troubleshooting”