awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:03 pm

Hi. I've been trying to install LineageOS (Android Oreo 8.1) from the KonstaKang website (https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=5862345805528041370). I successfully installed it on my 16 GB SD card. As soon as I insert it into my Pi 3 and plug it in, the graphics test rainbow image appears, so I'm assuming that it's working.But then after that it just goes immediately to a black screen. Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong? Please help!

User avatar
DarkPlatinum
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Unknown
Contact: Website YouTube

Re: LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:22 pm

Have you installed the correct linageOS version for your pi? Also if there is something wrong with image, don't expect to receive an update. The Dev has shut it down since there are some people who have used his open source android and sold it.
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

Check Out My Raspberry Site (Run on a Raspberry Pi 3B :) ): https://html.dynu.net

awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

Re: LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:44 pm

IDK check the website. It looks right to me. All I did was follow YouTube tutorials.

User avatar
DarkPlatinum
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Unknown
Contact: Website YouTube

Re: LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:52 pm

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:03 pm
Hi. I've been trying to install LineageOS (Android Oreo 8.1) from the KonstaKang website (https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=5862345805528041370). I successfully installed it on my 16 GB SD card. As soon as I insert it into my Pi 3 and plug it in, the graphics test rainbow image appears, so I'm assuming that it's working.But then after that it just goes immediately to a black screen. Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong? Please help!
you need this one: https://konstakang.com/devices/rpi3/CM14.1/
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

Check Out My Raspberry Site (Run on a Raspberry Pi 3B :) ): https://html.dynu.net

awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

Re: LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:12 pm

DarkPlatinum wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:52 pm
awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:03 pm
Hi. I've been trying to install LineageOS (Android Oreo 8.1) from the KonstaKang website (https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=5862345805528041370). I successfully installed it on my 16 GB SD card. As soon as I insert it into my Pi 3 and plug it in, the graphics test rainbow image appears, so I'm assuming that it's working.But then after that it just goes immediately to a black screen. Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong? Please help!
you need this one: https://konstakang.com/devices/rpi3/CM14.1/
What will Nougat do vs Oreo? Just curious.

User avatar
DarkPlatinum
Posts: 844
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:30 pm
Location: Unknown
Contact: Website YouTube

Re: LineageOS

Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:18 pm

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 10:12 pm
DarkPlatinum wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:52 pm
awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:03 pm
Hi. I've been trying to install LineageOS (Android Oreo 8.1) from the KonstaKang website (https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=5862345805528041370). I successfully installed it on my 16 GB SD card. As soon as I insert it into my Pi 3 and plug it in, the graphics test rainbow image appears, so I'm assuming that it's working.But then after that it just goes immediately to a black screen. Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong? Please help!
you need this one: https://konstakang.com/devices/rpi3/CM14.1/
What will Nougat do vs Oreo? Just curious.
Yeh am afraid I can't answer that. Your probably going to have to look around online for differences.
1 * Raspberry Pi Zero W, 1 * Raspberry Pi 2, 1 * Raspberry Pi 3 1 * Raspberry Pi 3B + :mrgreen:

Check Out My Raspberry Site (Run on a Raspberry Pi 3B :) ): https://html.dynu.net

awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

Re: LineageOS

Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:52 am

I tried that version and it still won't work. How long is the boot time supposed to be?

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 4613
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: LineageOS

Sun Nov 25, 2018 6:07 am

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:52 am
I tried that version and it still won't work. How long is the boot time supposed to be?
Probably best to ask on the Lineage OS support forum. Raspbian is the official OS of the Raspberry Pi, so that's what's typically supported here.

Official RPF stance on Android support.
viewtopic.php?f=73&t=71658

Lineage OS sub-forum.
viewtopic.php?f=73&t=220601

Just guessing, but if you have the newer Pi 3B+ model, Lineage OS probably wasn't updated to the newer kernel and firmware the 3B+ needs. If you have the older 3B and it's not working, then... ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20725
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: LineageOS

Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:00 am

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:52 am
I tried that version and it still won't work. How long is the boot time supposed to be?

viewtopic.php?f=73&t=220613

This states 3B+ support but for "advanced users only"

So you are on your own to get it working, maybe try ?

https://groups.google.com/forum/?nomobi ... ndroid-rpi
Retired disgracefully.....

User avatar
r3d4
Posts: 967
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:21 am
Location: ./

Re: LineageOS

Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:45 am

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Sat Nov 24, 2018 9:03 pm
As soon as I insert it into my Pi 3 and plug it in, the graphics test rainbow image appears, so I'm assuming that it's working.But then after that it just goes immediately to a black screen. Is this supposed to happen or am I doing something wrong? Please help!
viewtopic.php?f=73&t=220613#p1383763
Konsta wrote:You need to use a display that supports 720p resolution (it's the maximum resolution this build supports). Maybe try with a different display or modifying config.txt (https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... t/video.md) for your current one?
...
It's also difficult to get logs from the boot unless you have a serial console adapter.
so if *you* want to pursue a fix and dont have any luck with different display / settings
get ye a serial console adapter...

awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

Re: LineageOS

Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:38 am

So from what I'm seeing, it's a display problem? And BTW I do have Raspbian. I like to use different OS's.

User avatar
HawaiianPi
Posts: 4613
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 4:53 am
Location: Aloha, Oregon USA

Re: LineageOS

Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:27 pm

r3d4 wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:45 am
...so if *you* want to pursue a fix and dont have any luck with different display / settings
get ye a serial console adapter...
If you know the Pi is booting you could login using SSH to troubleshoot.

Although I like console cables myself for debugging. I use CP2102 USB-TTL adapters I get from ebay for less than $2. Of course the least expensive ones ship slow boat from China, but they're still under ten bucks closer to home ($6-$8).

You can even power a Pi Zero from a CP2102 USB-TTL adapter.
My mind is like a browser. 27 tabs are open, 9 aren't responding,
lots of pop-ups...and where is that annoying music coming from?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20725
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: LineageOS

Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:13 pm

HawaiianPi wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:27 pm
r3d4 wrote:
Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:45 am
...so if *you* want to pursue a fix and dont have any luck with different display / settings
get ye a serial console adapter...
If you know the Pi is booting you could login using SSH to troubleshoot.

Although I like console cables myself for debugging. I use CP2102 USB-TTL adapters I get from ebay for less than $2. Of course the least expensive ones ship slow boat from China, but they're still under ten bucks closer to home ($6-$8).

You can even power a Pi Zero from a CP2102 USB-TTL adapter.

There is no "working" Android for the ARMv6 Zero & RPi 1 !
Retired disgracefully.....

hippy
Posts: 5959
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: LineageOS

Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:31 pm

awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:38 am
So from what I'm seeing, it's a display problem?
Could be. I installed Konsta's LineageOS 14.1 (Android 7.1.2) and 15.1 (Android 8.1.0) unofficial builds on my Pi 3B (non-plus) and both worked fine a month or so ago using a standard HDMI 1080p TV.

14.1 was responsive enough for me but 15.1 was a poor experience on the 3B, and a worse version of Android anyway IMO.

awesomelydeluxe
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2017 3:24 am

Re: LineageOS

Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:34 am

hippy wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 3:31 pm
awesomelydeluxe wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:38 am
So from what I'm seeing, it's a display problem?
Could be. I installed Konsta's LineageOS 14.1 (Android 7.1.2) and 15.1 (Android 8.1.0) unofficial builds on my Pi 3B (non-plus) and both worked fine a month or so ago using a standard HDMI 1080p TV.

14.1 was responsive enough for me but 15.1 was a poor experience on the 3B, and a worse version of Android anyway IMO.
Huh. So how did it even work for you?

Konsta
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:55 pm
Location: Finland
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: LineageOS

Wed Nov 28, 2018 11:19 am

Please post your questions/problems in respective LineageOS thread instead (viewtopic.php?f=73&t=220601 & viewtopic.php?f=73&t=220613).

You need to have a display that supports 720p resolution. Most normal 1080p/4K TVs/displays also support various other display modes and smaller resolutions. 720p is the maximum supported resolution with LineageOS 15.1 build. LineageOS 14.1 uses 720p by default but you can try 1080p or other resolutions by modifying config.txt (https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... t/video.md) and /system/build.prop (https://github.com/lineage-rpi/android_ ... em.prop#L6). Using a bigger resolution has some impact in graphics performance, though.
KonstaKANG.com

iit
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 4:53 am

Re: LineageOS_GPIO

Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:01 am

Whether Lineage OS support GPIO control throgh android command prompt??

Konsta
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:55 pm
Location: Finland
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: LineageOS_GPIO

Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:13 am

iit wrote:
Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:01 am
Whether Lineage OS support GPIO control throgh android command prompt??
Yes, all my LineageOS builds (14.1, 15.1 & 16.0) support this. See this post (https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 3#p1404555) for examples. I've only tested this as far as blinking a LED, though. There's also support I2C and SPI devices.
KonstaKANG.com

Return to “Android”