jchi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:30 pm

TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 12:24 am

I originally posted in the WiFi Issues ? Start here ! thread, and am still having issues.

I'm not really sure what to try next. I was hoping this wifi dongle would work well since it's one of the ones listed on top raspberry pi2 wifi adapters.

Any ideas?

DirkS
Posts: 9777
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 1:03 am

Apparently there are several versions of this dongle, using different chipsets.
Can you post the output of

Code: Select all

lsusb

jchi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:30 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 1:14 am

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 2357:0105  
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c016 Logitech, Inc. Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0424:ec00 Standard Microsystems Corp. SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0424:9514 Standard Microsystems Corp. 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub 

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ uname -a
Linux raspberrypi 4.1.19-v7+ #858 SMP Tue Mar 15 15:56:00 GMT 2016 armv7l GNU/Linux 

DirkS
Posts: 9777
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 2:24 am

It looks as if MrEngman (our resident wifi specialist) has the drivers for this one (See viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044&p=872329#p872275)
For your kernel / firmware version try

Code: Select all

wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/80256631/mt7610-4.1.19-v7-858.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.1.19-v7-858.tar.gz
./install.sh
and reboot

jchi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:30 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 6:07 am

Ok. Done.

Hmmm... Still no dice though.

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     No scan results

As expected, no internet address on wlan0 which would explain no scan results I would imagine...

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ ifconfig wlan0
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr ec:08:6b:0a:64:79  
          inet6 addr: fe80::ee08:6bff:fe0a:6479/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:41 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1211 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:3311 (3.2 KiB)  TX bytes:87336 (85.2 KiB)
The module seems to show loaded though...

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
cfg80211              407580  0 
rfkill                 16036  2 cfg80211
evdev                  10278  2 
bcm2835_gpiomem         2860  0 
bcm2835_rng             1763  0 
snd_bcm2835            19802  3 
snd_pcm                73474  1 snd_bcm2835
snd_timer              18848  1 snd_pcm
mt7610u_sta           843100  1 
snd                    50779  9 snd_bcm2835,snd_timer,snd_pcm
uio_pdrv_genirq         2944  0 
uio                     7753  1 uio_pdrv_genirq
i2c_dev                 5671  0 
fuse                   80694  3 
ipv6                  338660  32 
What next?

DirkS
Posts: 9777
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon May 02, 2016 1:58 pm

As expected, no internet address on wlan0 which would explain no scan results I would imagine...
No, the fact that you have wlan0 would suggest that the driver is loaded and the dongle is recognised.

However, I just had a similar thing happening when I played around with the internal wifi on a Pi3B.
'iwlist scan' shows absolutely nothing
I went into the GUI and clicked on the network icon in the taskbar. At first still nothing showing up, but then all of a sudden APs starting appearing.
From then on 'iwlist' would also show the APs... weird.
After a reboot the same happens.

I added the credentials manually to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf and wifi connects without problems.

So I suggest you ty to do the same.

jchi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:30 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue May 03, 2016 3:24 am

I went into the GUI and clicked on the network icon in the taskbar. At first still nothing showing up, but then all of a sudden APs starting appearing. From then on 'iwlist' would also show the APs... weird.
Ok... tried this too. APs never started appearing for me. However, my eth0 does appear when plugged in. Bonus! :-)... But no wifi APs unfortunately.
I added the credentials manually to /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf and wifi connects without problems.
Hmm... I had added my creds to the wpa_supplicant.conf also. Still no dice. :-/

Here's what's in my wpa_supplicant.conf file...

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf 
country=US
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
    ssid="<my_actual_essid>"
    psk="<MyActualPassword0987!@#$>"
}
Where...
  • <my_actual_essid> = 'real essid name'
    <MyActualPassword0987!@#$> = 'actual password'
Note... I have not generated a psk using wpa_passphrase. I followed these directions here.

Is there something that would indicate that this is something I need to do? Some log somewhere maybe?

jchi
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:30 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue May 03, 2016 3:35 am

Note... I have not generated a psk using wpa_passphrase.
Ok... for sh!ts'n'giggles I generated a psk using wpa_passphrase and updated my wpa_supplicant.conf. Here's the new file:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ sudo cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf 
country=US
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=netdev
update_config=1
network={
    ssid="<my_actual_essid>"
    #psk="<MyActualPassword0987!@#$>"
    psk=983bdff8b30046676B7e27e86bef13ae4213a233b6376671b0924c68e9653642
}
Still no dice. :-/

Anvil14
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:18 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Wed Nov 09, 2016 2:57 am

I'm running a kernel 4.4.20-v7+ on my raspberry pi, what would be the proper driver for me to download to get WIFI working.

Thx in advance.

jpvdo83
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:51 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:56 pm

Hello,

i have some difficulties installing the driver.
The driver you mentiont isn't accesable anymore, when i copy the code:

wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/802 ... 858.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.1.19-v7-858.tar.gz
./install.sh

i get a 404 error..
Could you please update the link?
it would help me out a lot.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35021
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon Aug 21, 2017 1:32 am

jpvdo83 wrote:
Sun Aug 20, 2017 8:56 pm

wget https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/802 ... 858.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.1.19-v7-858.tar.gz
./install.sh
Try http://www.fars-robotics.net/mt7610-4.1 ... 858.tar.gz
Note: Having anything remotely humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a hippy & doctor free zone.

svenyonson
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:25 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:51 pm

I am getting this message: mt7610u: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout

Does anyone have a mt7610u build that will work with Raspbian 4.9.41 on a Pi Zero WiFi?

(I already have built in 2.4G, trying to add 5G with a TP-LINK AC 450)

MrEngman
Posts: 3778
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:41 pm

svenyonson wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:51 pm
I am getting this message: mt7610u: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout

Does anyone have a mt7610u build that will work with Raspbian 4.9.41 on a Pi Zero WiFi?

(I already have built in 2.4G, trying to add 5G with a TP-LINK AC 450)
The driver version you have installed is not compatible with the kernel version you are using.

Try this

Code: Select all

wget http://www.fars-robotics.net/mt7610-4.9.41-1023.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.9.41-1023.tar.gz
./install.sh
After installing reboot and then configure your wifi connection.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Orsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:59 am

MrEngman wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:41 pm
svenyonson wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:51 pm
I am getting this message: mt7610u: disagrees about version of symbol module_layout

Does anyone have a mt7610u build that will work with Raspbian 4.9.41 on a Pi Zero WiFi?

(I already have built in 2.4G, trying to add 5G with a TP-LINK AC 450)
The driver version you have installed is not compatible with the kernel version you are using.

Try this

Code: Select all

wget http://www.fars-robotics.net/mt7610-4.9.41-1023.tar.gz
tar xzf mt7610-4.9.41-1023.tar.gz
./install.sh
After installing reboot and then configure your wifi connection.
Hi MrEngman

I am trying to run the tp-link archer t2u adapter and I use the install-wifi, and the adapter recognizes the networks, but I can not connect, they all appear without signal. What can I do in this case?

I leave image (any necessary data will be attentive to the subject). And i Use a Rpi3

I would appreciate any help to make this stupid thing work :D

Image

Code: Select all

pi@torrentPi:~ $ lsusb
Bus 001 Device 008: ID 148f:761a Ralink Technology, Corp. 
blablabla

Code: Select all

pi@torrentPi:~ $ uname -a
Linux torrentPi 4.9.41-v7+ #1023 SMP Tue Aug 8 16:00:15 BST 2017 armv7l GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

pi@torrentPi:~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
fuse                   99603  5
rfcomm                 37723  6
cmac                    3239  1
bnep                   12051  2
hci_uart               20020  1
btbcm                   7916  1 hci_uart
bluetooth             365511  29 hci_uart,bnep,btbcm,rfcomm
joydev                  9988  0
evdev                  12423  4
mt7610u               691505  1
sg                     20825  0
brcmfmac              223048  0
brcmutil                9092  1 brcmfmac
cfg80211              543091  2 mt7610u,brcmfmac
rfkill                 20851  7 bluetooth,cfg80211
snd_bcm2835            24427  1
snd_pcm                98501  1 snd_bcm2835
snd_timer              23968  1 snd_pcm
snd                    70032  5 snd_timer,snd_bcm2835,snd_pcm
bcm2835_gpiomem         3940  0
fixed                   3285  0
uio_pdrv_genirq         3923  0
uio                    10204  1 uio_pdrv_genirq
i2c_dev                 6913  0
ip_tables              13161  0
x_tables               20578  1 ip_tables
ipv6                  409035  34

Code: Select all

pi@torrentPi:~ $ sudo iwlist wlan1 scan
wlan1     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: C0:05:C2:80:65:B9
                    Protocol:802.11g/n
                    ESSID:"VTR-8491485"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                    Quality=81/100  Signal level=-58 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
          Cell 02 - Address: 78:71:9C:AC:DD:30
                    Protocol:802.11b/g/n
                    ESSID:"ARRIS-DD32"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.462 GHz (Channel 11)
                    Quality=55/100  Signal level=-68 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:57.5 Mb/s
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : TKIP CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
          Cell 03 - Address: 78:71:9C:AC:DD:35
                    Protocol:802.11a/n
                    ESSID:"ARRIS-DD32-5G"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:5.22 GHz (Channel 44)
                    Quality=50/100  Signal level=-70 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:120 Mb/s
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : CCMP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: DD310050F204104A00011010440001021047001033B0FF001DD211B286015753435F5555103C0001021049000600372A000120
          Cell 04 - Address: C0:05:C2:80:65:BF
                    Protocol:802.11a/n
                    ESSID:"VTR-8491485-5G"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:5.785 GHz (Channel 157)
                    Quality=78/100  Signal level=-59 dBm  Noise level=-92 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:120 Mb/s
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: DD1D0050F204104A0001101044000102103C0001021049000600372A000120
          Cell 05 - Address: C0:05:C2:A1:11:C9
                    Protocol:802.11g/n
                    ESSID:"VTR-2672563"
                    Mode:Managed
                    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                    Quality=31/100  Signal level=-77 dBm  Noise level=-85 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    Bit Rates:54 Mb/s
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: DD1D0050F204104A0001101044000102103C0001021049000600372A000120

MrEngman
Posts: 3778
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:04 am

Hello Orsen,

As this thread is for the Archer T1U it would have been better if you had started a new thread for the Archer T2U.

I have not used the GUI for a long, long time so not sure on the setup. Don't you just have to select the network you want to connect to and then you will be asked for the password.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Orsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:57 am

MrEngman wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:04 am
Hello Orsen,

As this thread is for the Archer T1U it would have been better if you had started a new thread for the Archer T2U.

I have not used the GUI for a long, long time so not sure on the setup. Don't you just have to select the network you want to connect to and then you will be asked for the password.
but, i need desactivate the wlan0? or only i need is configure the wlan1 in the respective files?

SurferTim
Posts: 1769
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:07 pm

I had problems with using wlan0 and wlan1. I had to switch to predictable interface names when using two wifi devices. I couldn't predict which interface would get which name. Sometimes the onboard interface would be wlan0, and other times wlan1.

Predictable names are a pain in the backside, but I found necessary when using multiple wifi devices

To use mac based interface names in Stretch

Code: Select all

sudo mv /etc/systemd/network/99-default.link /home/pi/
Reboot

MrEngman
Posts: 3778
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:47 pm

Orsen wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 11:57 am
MrEngman wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 8:04 am
Hello Orsen,

As this thread is for the Archer T1U it would have been better if you had started a new thread for the Archer T2U.

I have not used the GUI for a long, long time so not sure on the setup. Don't you just have to select the network you want to connect to and then you will be asked for the password.
but, i need desactivate the wlan0? or only i need is configure the wlan1 in the respective files?
I run several Pi with more than one wifi module without problems. I am away from home at the moment but I have a Pi 3B running Jessie and a Pi 0 W running Stretch with me.

On the Pi 3B I have disabled the built in wifi and it has a USB wifi module so it has just one wifi connected. On the Pi 0 W I have the built in wifi and a USB wifi adapter connected and both are connected to the router. I find the built in wifi always gets the name wlan0 and the USB wifi gets the name wlan1.

If you don't want to use the built in wifi you can disable it then when you reboot the T2U will get the name wlan0.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

SurferTim
Posts: 1769
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 9:27 am
Location: Miramar Beach, Florida

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:51 pm

MrEngman wrote: On the Pi 3B I have disabled the built in wifi and it has a USB wifi module so it has just one wifi connected. On the Pi 0 W I have the built in wifi and a USB wifi adapter connected and both are connected to the router. I find the built in wifi always gets the name wlan0 and the USB wifi gets the name wlan1.
That is what I thought also. I found, to my embarrassment, it isn't true. On occasion, my onboard wlan gets wlan1 and the usb wlan gets wlan0.

Orsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:57 pm

SurferTim wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:51 pm
MrEngman wrote: On the Pi 3B I have disabled the built in wifi and it has a USB wifi module so it has just one wifi connected. On the Pi 0 W I have the built in wifi and a USB wifi adapter connected and both are connected to the router. I find the built in wifi always gets the name wlan0 and the USB wifi gets the name wlan1.
That is what I thought also. I found, to my embarrassment, it isn't true. On occasion, my onboard wlan gets wlan1 and the usb wlan gets wlan0.
That Right !, I had the same problem, when I rebooted the raspberry, I saw how devices were exchanged between wlan0 and wlan1

MrEngman
Posts: 3778
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:12 pm

Orsen wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:57 pm
SurferTim wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:51 pm
MrEngman wrote: On the Pi 3B I have disabled the built in wifi and it has a USB wifi module so it has just one wifi connected. On the Pi 0 W I have the built in wifi and a USB wifi adapter connected and both are connected to the router. I find the built in wifi always gets the name wlan0 and the USB wifi gets the name wlan1.
That is what I thought also. I found, to my embarrassment, it isn't true. On occasion, my onboard wlan gets wlan1 and the usb wlan gets wlan0.
That Right !, I had the same problem, when I rebooted the raspberry, I saw how devices were exchanged between wlan0 and wlan1
Very easy to disable the built in wifi so you only have the T2U active which will then get the name wlan0.

Create a file using command

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/brcmfmac.conf
and add the line

Code: Select all

blacklist brcmfmac
Just tried on my Pi 0 W and I now only get the USB wifi active.
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

Orsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 pm

I disabled wlan onboard and nothing, i cant connect, and show all the connection with low signal

shusain93
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 12:48 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:57 am

Anyone who stumbles upon this later, I finally got this working with MrEngman's AMAZING script which you just run and it installs exactly the right version for your kernel version. Follow the instructions at the top of the script. Did what I was trying to do for hours in a minute. [headdesk]

https://gist.github.com/kmonsoor/59c47d ... 5eba7909e8

moviebrain
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:10 am

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:31 am

Orsen wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:55 pm
I disabled wlan onboard and nothing, i cant connect, and show all the connection with low signal
I'm having this exact problem trying to use my T2U on raspbian stretch kernel 4.9.41-v7+

The drivers download and install and even starts to work, but it's unable to visualize signal strength or connect to networks. It also seems to panic the pi3b and makes it unreachable and unresponsive via ash or VNC after about 10 minutes.

Is there an issue with the script or the compiled driver that wants to be on Jessie and not Stretch?

Orsen
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2016 6:50 pm

Re: TP-LINK Archer T1U Wireless AC450

Mon Oct 30, 2017 12:14 pm

moviebrain wrote:
Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:31 am

I'm having this exact problem trying to use my T2U on raspbian stretch kernel 4.9.41-v7+

The drivers download and install and even starts to work, but it's unable to visualize signal strength or connect to networks. It also seems to panic the pi3b and makes it unreachable and unresponsive via ash or VNC after about 10 minutes.

Is there an issue with the script or the compiled driver that wants to be on Jessie and not Stretch?
at the end i give up with this adapter. not worked with anything what i tried :(

Return to “Troubleshooting”