balanga
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:56 pm

4G/LTE Broadband modem

Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:21 pm

Has anyone tried using a 4G/LTE broadband modem for accessing the Internet?

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20927
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:16 pm

balanga wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:21 pm
Has anyone tried using a 4G/LTE broadband modem for accessing the Internet?
I am in the UK and use a MiFi, if connected via a USB data/charge Cable it shows up as a Modem automatically:

http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Devices ... bile_Wi-Fi
Retired disgracefully.....

balanga
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:56 pm

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:28 pm

I'm in the UK, also on the Three network and have one of these

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/232433977536?c ... 426&crdt=0

but don't know how to get it to connect.

neilakos
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:45 pm

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:55 am

What kind of error messages are you getting? I would have thought Three would know what to do

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20927
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:07 pm

balanga wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:28 pm
I'm in the UK, also on the Three network and have one of these

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/232433977536?c ... 426&crdt=0

but don't know how to get it to connect.
SAKIS3G was a comprehensive software package which puts the USB 3G Modem in modem mode and connected to your ISP, unfortunately the official web site has gone but searching Google may find a download....

FYI most USB 3G Modems by default are in MSD Mode !
Retired disgracefully.....

balanga
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2014 6:56 pm

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:37 pm

neilakos wrote:
Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:55 am
What kind of error messages are you getting? I would have thought Three would know what to do
I haven't tried to connect because I don't know what to do.

I would not expect to hear anything useful from Three technical support especially if I said I was using a Raspberry Pi.


Return to “General discussion”