stotlem

4 Camera Modules with Compute Module & IO Board

Sat May 07, 2016 11:13 pm

I'm an EECS student and I have a project which features synchronized image acquisition from multiple camera modules (four to be exact).

Are the camera and display inputs on the IO board the same?
Could I attach four camera modules to the IO board and capture images from each camera module in synch?

Thanks!

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: 4 Camera Modules with Compute Module & IO Board

Sun May 08, 2016 6:10 am

stotlemail wrote:Are the camera and display inputs on the IO board the same?
Could I attach four camera modules to the IO board and capture images from each camera module in synch?
No, the display ports are outputs, the camera ports are inputs.
There's no way of simultaneously running 4 cameras in sync on 1 Pi/cm. You can probably set things up to sync multiple Pis together, but there's no infrastructure in place to do it at the moment.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

stotlem

Sun May 08, 2016 7:25 pm

Thanks for the reply! I realized hours ago this was a stupid question after looking at the IO board schematics. Currently, my only options are to design my own IO board, replacing the two display outputs?

6by9

Sun May 08, 2016 8:50 pm

Replace them with what? There are only two camera receiver interface peripherals on th Broadcom SoC. You physically can't connect more cameras too it.

The display connectors connect to the display peripherals on the SoC, and those pins are dedicated outputs so can't be repurposed.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

jrychter

Thu Jun 30, 2016 5:09 pm