jayer89
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:16 am

for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:09 pm

right now in maplin you can pick up a High-Power Folding solar charger for £5.99 it deos have a 1000mAh internal battery.

audigex
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 1:37 pm

Re: for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:17 pm

Would this provide the constant power needed for a RPI though? Charging a battery in a phone is fine - lower current would just charge more slowly - but the RPI can't have voltage drops.

Does the battery provide a sufficient buffer zone for when the sun goes behind a cloud?

sotris99
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:07 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact: Website

Re: for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Mon Sep 24, 2012 9:01 am

Ἓν οἶδα, ὅτι οὐδὲν οἶδα. (All I know is that I know nothing)

User avatar
rew
Posts: 423
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:25 pm

Re: for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Wed Sep 26, 2012 6:40 pm

In theory:
Output current: 800mA
should be enough.

I have tested two 1000mA adapters, one delivers what it claims, the other doesn't (and doesn't power a 'pi).
Check out our raspberry pi addons: https://www.bitwizard.nl/shop/

Johnny002
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 2:28 pm

Re: for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Mon Oct 29, 2012 5:33 pm

Technically, the way this works is that the solar energy taken in is used to charge a battery and the battery outputs the energy in a constant form to the RPi. Fluctuation in input are irrelevant and if the sun is hidden, it will work like any other battery just minus the eco-friendly charging while being used.

Just my piece to add.
-Jon

Mysterypete
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: for those looking into solar power for the RPI

Tue Oct 30, 2012 6:24 am

What happens about the voltage, I.e. what is the battery voltage. Does the pi have a regulator.

Peter

Return to “For sale”