rasp14
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 2:49 pm

Question for TightVNCServer on Raspbian

Sun Jun 22, 2014 3:33 pm

Hi All,

I've just bought a Model B board few days ago and i have successfully installed Raspbian and booted it.

Just installed TightVNCServer and followed this guide http://elinux.org/RPi_VNC_Server for setting up autostart service. Everything was running ok.

I just have one question though. Why did i have to changed the command from "vncserver :0" to "vncserver :1" in order to make the program work?

I get this error message if i use the command "vncserver :0",

Warning: raspberrypi:0 is taken because of /tmp/.X0-lock
Remove this file if there is no X server raspberrypi:0
A VNC server is already running as :0


I tried to kill every tightvnc process by using "vncserver -kill :0" or "vncserver -kill :1" and run the command "vncserver :0" again and i got the same error.

I kind of loss here. Is not like the vncserver is not working. I just want to understand why i cannot start the program using ":0".

I hope someone could share with me what is actually wrong here.

Thanks in advance.

Regards.

rasp14
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2014 2:49 pm

Re: Question for TightVNCServer on Raspbian

Wed Jun 25, 2014 3:23 am

I do some digging a i just found out that i cannot start tightvnc server at ":0" due to Xorg already taken that spot. I config-ed my Raspberry Pi to auto login to desktop during boot. Thanks for reading anyway. ;)

User avatar
Cancelor
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: Question for TightVNCServer on Raspbian

Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:43 am

I have the same but what I really want is to see the same desktop on my laptop as on my TV (RPi) ... do you know how I can do that?
Can't find the thread you want? Try googling : YourSearchHere site:raspberrypi.org

simplesi
Posts: 2327
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:19 pm
Location: Euxton, Lancashire, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Question for TightVNCServer on Raspbian

Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:51 am

Cancelor wrote:I have the same but what I really want is to see the same desktop on my laptop as on my TV (RPi) ... do you know how I can do that?
Use x11vnc instead of tightserver

http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/2014/02/0 ... ll-x11vnc/

then what you see remotely IS the normal desktop :)

Simon
Seeking help with Scratch and I/O stuff for Primary age children
http://cymplecy.wordpress.com/ @cymplecy on twitter

User avatar
Cancelor
Posts: 760
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2013 4:09 pm
Location: UK

Re: Question for TightVNCServer on Raspbian

Wed Jun 25, 2014 6:57 am

cool, thnx 8-)
Can't find the thread you want? Try googling : YourSearchHere site:raspberrypi.org

Return to “Beginners”