FoodServiceIT

Multiple Video Displays

Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:54 pm

Hello everyone, I have never used Raspberry Pi before but it was suggested by a friend that for the project I have coming up, that this would be a good way to go. I am looking for some info on if this is possible or if there would be a better way to do it.

Here is what we are trying to do:

We have 9 sites which require anywhere from 1-6 displays per site.
5 elementary schools
2 middle schools
2 high schools
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The current options are provided by Nutrislice are:
There are various hardware configurations that are compatible with our product, but they can be broken down into two basic configurations:

(1) (Wired One to one) One computing device connected to each screen

(2) (Wired One to multiple) Single computing device attached to multiple screens via (a) a single video output, split with VGA, DVI or HDMI splitter/booster hardware (depending on the output) or (b) multiple video outputs (with video signal boosters for significant distances (VGA is more tolerant of longer distances without boosting, but is a lower quality signal)).

(3) (Wireless via Chromecast) Wireless transmission via Google Chromecast dongles. This requires one Google Chromecast device per screen and the presence of a reliable, high-speed, high signal strength wireless local area network to connect the Chromecast device to a computer on the local area network.

or (this is the one I'm having some trouble with)
(4) Use 3-9 virtual servers (one for each school level / or one for each site) and have the VS's provide the video feed to the displays at the different sites.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The company providing the digital signage answered this when I suggested using virtual servers for this: