Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 12:54 am

So i've followed numerous guides and searched through the forum for solutions, still nothing.

I correctly enter my SSID and WPA Key into terminal through sudo nano /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf and sudo nano /etc/networks/interfaces like the guides said and I know my SSID and WPA are correct.

A few things I think could be causing the problem:

1. I've installed the driver information for the edimax onto my desktop computer, could this be the problem?
2. My SSID is "Katrina Maltais's Network", when entering this SSID into wpa_supplicant I enter it as SSID="Katrina Maltais's Network", is this the correct way?

Any help would be really appreciated, I have no other ideas how to fix this and I've spent over 6 hours trying to configure this.

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:35 am

Does it work if you put the SSID and WPA key into /etc/network/interfaces ?

Code: Select all

auto wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid "Katrina Maltais's Network"
wpa-psk yourpskhere
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 3:52 pm

Tried this, thankfully something did change, but it's still not 100%.

When I rebooted the RPi, the USB dongle had a flashing blue light, and when I run ifconfig wlan0, I get a result back for RX bytes and TX bytes, which was originally 0 before.


But the LED lights on the RPi for internet are not flashing, and when attempting to connect to a browser, it cannot connect, any other ideas? I'm desperate

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:30 pm

Does ifconfig show that wlan0 has gotten an IP address ?
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 4:54 pm

Not exactly sure, I don't think so. Heres an image of what I can see...

http://i.imgur.com/V1pYgvV.jpg?1

klricks
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:16 pm

Croziea wrote:Tried this, thankfully something did change, but it's still not 100%.

When I rebooted the RPi, the USB dongle had a flashing blue light, and when I run ifconfig wlan0, I get a result back for RX bytes and TX bytes, which was originally 0 before.


But the LED lights on the RPi for internet are not flashing, and when attempting to connect to a browser, it cannot connect, any other ideas? I'm desperate
The network status LED's do not light for WIFI. They only light with wired connections.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 5:33 pm

klricks wrote: The network status LED's do not light for WIFI. They only light with wired connections.
Oh okay, good to know. But when attempting to connect in my browser, it still doesn't work, any ideas?

klricks
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 7:27 pm

In WIFI config utility does the status show you are connected to your SSID?
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 8:00 pm

klricks wrote:In WIFI config utility does the status show you are connected to your SSID?
Where can I go to see this?

klricks
Posts: 6609
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 3:01 am
Location: Grants Pass, OR, USA
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Wed Oct 30, 2013 10:12 pm

From the desktop in the Raspbian GUI (startx)
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:59 am

From the fact that there's no IP address, I'd say he's not connected to the wifi network.
Whats iwconfig show ?
There's no mac address filtering enabled on the WiFi router is there ?
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:00 pm

klricks wrote:From the desktop in the Raspbian GUI (startx)
It shows Listening on LPF/wlan0/80:1d:02:bc:29:42
DHCPDISCOVER on wlan0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6

And continues to counter up like that.

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Thu Oct 31, 2013 1:04 pm

SirLagz wrote:From the fact that there's no IP address, I'd say he's not connected to the wifi network.
Whats iwconfig show ?
There's no mac address filtering enabled on the WiFi router is there ?
How would I know if theres mac address filtering enabled? It's a new house and we just got the router set up with a no name company, so it's very possible.

This is what iwconfig shows:
http://i.imgur.com/0GPXMKN.jpg

SirLagz
Posts: 1705
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:53 am
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact: Website

Re: Setting up WiFi

Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:05 pm

By default, it shouldn't have MAC address filtering. Not sure how to check on your router since every router is different.
Can any other device connect to the WiFi ? Especially one that has never connected to it before ?
If some new device can connect to it, e.g. friend's phone, then MAC address filtering is likely disabled.
My Blog - http://www.sirlagz.net
Visit my blog for Tips, Tricks, Guides and More !
WiFi Issues ? Have a look at this post ! http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44044

Croziea
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 7:56 pm

Re: Setting up WiFi

Thu Oct 31, 2013 2:45 pm

SirLagz wrote:By default, it shouldn't have MAC address filtering. Not sure how to check on your router since every router is different.
Can any other device connect to the WiFi ? Especially one that has never connected to it before ?
If some new device can connect to it, e.g. friend's phone, then MAC address filtering is likely disabled.
Yes we've had numerous devices connect to it. I've had friends come over and connect their phone/computer, so MAC address filtering is disabled

Return to “Beginners”