fromthericefields

Blind Setup

Fri Jun 28, 2013 8:43 am

Let me give you a bit of background so you can understand better how to help me out.

I'm a student renting a room in a house in Australia. I'm new to this sort of stuff but have a keep aptitude to learn.
We have wireless internet which I use with my laptop.

I have no screen cable of HDMI. I would like to remote access it through my laptop and use the laptop's touch pad and keyboard to experiment with the Pi

I have the Raspian image file on the SD card (8GB) but have not performed a boot up as I have no screen to see what I am doing.

I know my computer's IP address (it has 2 different IP addresses. 1 starts with 127. and the other starts with 10.

How can I set up PuTTY to connect with the Pi when I have no idea it's IP address since I can't access it?
The router is not mine but I do know it has the label bigpond so I assume that's the brand name.

I looked at tutorials but all suggested using IP with 192. and 167. but that's not what my IP starts with.

I have a Ethernet cable.

Thank you for your assistance.

I can be a little dumb at first but after the start up stage and basic understanding of the system I progress a bit faster.

pluggy

Re: Blind Setup

Fri Jun 28, 2013 6:08 pm

Option 1. Interrogate the router or whatever is issuing the IP addresses to find out what IP it issued to the Pi.

Option 2. Use some form of network scanning software to scan the network and look for the Pi's IP.

You could try nmap since theres a version for most operating systems. http://nmap.org/

If you have a smart phone you can access your network from theres an app called fing that would work.

Option 3. Cadge some form of screen for the Pi and read it off the screen.
Don't judge Linux by the Pi.......
I must not tread on too many sacred cows......

fromthericefields

Fri Jun 28, 2013 11:27 pm

Well that was sort of helpful but gets me nowhere closer to my intentions.