liudr

How to startx from remote machine?

Sat Jun 08, 2013 2:15 am

Total noob question: to access my raspberry pi I installed Debian on my spare machine. I thought I could SSH to pi and startx to see graphical interface of the pi. The terminal window just hangs with the following message and no graphical interface came up :lol:

So how do I bring up the GUI on my remote machine? Thanks.
Kernel command line: dma.dmachans=0x7f35 bcm2708_fb.fbwidth=720 bcm2708_fb.fbheight=480 bcm2708.boardrev=0xe bcm2708.serial=0x674abdd4 smsc95xx.macaddr=B8:27:EB:4A:BD:D4 sdhci-bcm2708.emmc_clock_freq=100000000 vc_mem.mem_base=0x1ec00000 vc_mem.mem_size=0x20000000 dwc_otg.lpm_enable=0 console=ttyAMA0,115200 kgdboc=ttyAMA0,115200 console=tty1 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 rootfstype=ext4 elevator=deadline rootwait
Build Date: 10 December 2012 05:45:57AM
xorg-server 2:1.12.4-4 (Julien Cristau <jcristau@debian.org>)
Current version of pixman: 0.29.1
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Jun 7 20:49:26 2013
(==) Using system config directory "/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d"
Arduino data loggers, user interface, printed circuit board designer since 2009, RPI 3B 2B 2B Zero Jessie, assembly/C/C++/java/python programmer since the 80's

malakai

Re: How to startx from remote machine?

Sat Jun 08, 2013 4:11 am

I like Xming but the more popular would probably be MobaXTerm so the short answer is you need something beyond an SSH client instructions can be found here Moba is as the very bottom http://www.raspians.com/knowledgebase/h ... and-putty/