govind4873
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 9:38 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Oct 14, 2017 2:44 pm

boberthemage wrote:
Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:58 am
I am having a similar problem with my RPi 3 model B. It USED to work, but now i have a No Signal screen! I am using a HANNS-G computer monitor with a HDMI-DVI adaptor. My SD has NOOBS. I used these same devices when my RPi worked. I bought another SD, put NOOBS on it, but now I am having this problem.
I tried everything above (except Noobs Lite) and there is no "Config" file, probably because I am using NOOBS. And by the way, I don't want to have to purchase anything else.
ya same issue i dont have config file in it and should i try lite now

chitzui
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:39 pm

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
can also be added via command line. Just write

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1
then reboot

Code: Select all

sudo reboot
and you’re good to go!

Mechatronicsman
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:03 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:16 pm

For me it hasn't worked to uncomment hdmi_force_hotplug=1. I think it will not work for everyone whos using a dvi Adaptor for his monitor.
You have to Type

hdmi_drive=1

in the config.txt data, then it will work. I''ve tried all other options, but this is the only one, that's working.

Alia Khalid
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:05 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL

Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:10 am

I have the same issue but my os in rasp is also not installed so I cant see config.txt file. What do I do?

bertrodgerseh
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2018 7:58 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Thu May 03, 2018 8:02 pm

Hi,
I solved by plugging my pi zero w into a smaller HMDI screen.
seemingly the pi zeros do not have enough power.

if config.txt does not exist you can create if you load SD on another computer.
however i did this and added the hotplug code and it did not fit.

monitor that did not work was 22 inch LG IPS LED
one that did work 7inch HDMI screen.

Best of luck. :D

User avatar
sayhello
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:02 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:34 pm

hi there

i also got stuck with such an error _

the question is: how (!!!! ) can i edit the line

viewtopic.php?t=34061 presume, you have installed your selected OS on SD card. Boot sector of the SD card is normally accessible from Windows, so you can edit file config.txt. What you maybe need? Add into config.txt this line:

Code: Select all

hdmi_force_hotplug=1

that is the question...

dave_b
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:39 am

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:44 am

Without access to the monitor, I was able to fix this way:
- SSH into the Pi from another PC on your network
- Navigate to the boot directory
- sudo nano config.txt
- add the line hdmi_force_hotplug=1
- save, exit, reboot

doppler
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 25, 2015 5:53 pm

Re: HDMI monitors says NO SIGNAL (solved)

Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:51 pm

Nightmare after doing an inplace dist-upgrade to debian buster.
Upon reboot hdmi video was gone absolutely gone.

What did the trick was: hdmi_force_hotplug=1 in config.txt

Now this is also a problem with berryboot. AKA: WD disc drive units.
If berryboot will not proceed in booting. A re-image of the berry boot
SD code is in order. Go thru the normal process. BUT PICK THE OLD
PARTITION. In other words, use existing data. Then all is well.

hdmi_force_hotplug=1 maybe required in the berry boot code.
Just add it to the end in the [ALL] section.

Search words for others:
Debian berryboot buster dist-upgrade config.txt hdmi_force_hotplug=1
no video rainbow monitor

Return to “Beginners”