JayBird61

Maybe a Dumb Question, But How Can I Lock Down an App?

Fri Nov 15, 2019 9:12 pm

Hi all - My very first post as I am new to Pi Land. I am thinking of using a couple of Pi 4's configured as LAMPs to run a small frontend to kitchen PHP site.There will be a maximum of approximately 12 tablets or touchscreen monitors for user interfaces. Users in the frontend will 'build' orders and submit them to the kitchen for preparation. There will be no product pricing needed in the app.

After each order is created in the frontend it will be stored in a MySQL database, a little printer will print an order number for the customer, and the order will then be displayed on one of the tablets or touchscreen monitors in the kitchen. Now some questions:

1) Is there a relatively easy way to lock down the code or the hardware (maybe with a USB key, etc.) to prevent this app from being copied (stolen) off of the Pi?

2) Would a single Pi 4 Model B have enough oomph (I know, right? ;) ) to run this system?

3) If the answer to 1 is 'yes' what are the gotchas I should lookout for in this system?

Thanks in advance, and I hope to have a Pi 4 B soon to begin some testing. Living in Iceland makes obtaining one both a little harder, and a lot more expensive.

W. H. Heydt

Re: Maybe a Dumb Question, But How Can I Lock Down an App?

Sat Nov 16, 2019 2:03 am

JayBird61 wrote:
1) Is there a relatively easy way to lock down the code or the hardware (maybe with a USB key, etc.) to prevent this app from being copied (stolen) off of the Pi?
Short answer: No.