jhickie

Issues with the K400 keyboard

Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:35 pm

Hello everyone. I am new to the RPi and really excited to dig in. I got it to replace my media center in the living room, which is currently powered by an aging computer, as well as to be a retro gaming console via RetroPie. I got the RPi 3+ B, downloaded the newest NOOBS and installed Raspian with no issues. However, I am completely unable to get my Logitech K400 wireless keyboard/trackpad to recognize or pair.

My K400 has never had issues with any PC I've paired it to previously, totally PnP. I just tested it today on my main PC through the Logitech Unifying Software (not aging media center PC) and it paired with no issues. While it was paired, I made sure to verify that the K400's firmware is up to date. However, when I try to pair it to the RPi it doesn't recognize. I've tried to pair it through the Bluetooth interface icon (upper-right) and I've tried to use the keyboard config tool in the menu. I've tried to unplug it and re-plug it in the desktop environment. I've tried to pair it through the console. Nothing works.

I've searched high and low for 3 days, looking through countless forum posts and Google search results. I did read through another post here on the forums regarding the K400 (https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view ... 0#p1531089) but the only solution I've seen that I haven't tried yet is to install the Logitech Unifying Software through Solaar, but I am unsure how to do that. I guess I have a couple of questions:

1. Why is everyone seemingly having no issues with using the K400 out of the box with the RPi? Am I doing something wrong as a true RPi noob?
2. Do I install Solaar through the repo via the console, or is there something else I have to do to get it running? If the former, would someone be kind enough to link me to instructions?