adrianTNT

A relay turns a light on/off, how to detect a burnt light ? [solved]

Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:03 am

Hello.
I am kind of new to this ...

I have a simple relay that turns a light on/off.

How can I detect if the light bulb is bad ? Is there a special relay that can do this ? Or a sensor that I mount on the circuit to detect the current draw ? How is this done in general ?

neilgl

Re: A relay turns a light on/off, how to detect a burnt light ?

Thu Oct 10, 2019 8:47 am

You could use an LDR (light dependent resistor) or photodiode to detect if the light is on.

adrianTNT

Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:00 am

Yes, I was thinking about that solution but I thought it would be very unconventional, normally this would be used for small region public street lighting and if there is a more reliable way to do it, then I would like to know :)

PiGraham

Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:12 am

You could use an inductive clamp type sensor.
https://www.poweruc.pl/blogs/news/non-i ... eKEALw_wcB

https://www.seeedstudio.com/Non-invasiv ... -2054.html

https://www.amazon.com/HiLetgo-Current- ... lp_pl_dp_4

You could also look at Hall Effect current sensors.
Match the sensor to the normal current through the bulb.
Many of these sensors are analogue and produce a voltage proportional to current so would not be suitable for direct connection to RPi gpio input. You could use a comparator, a simple transistor or an analog to digital convertor to detect the state.

As always with mains voltages be very careful to ensure the Pi is isolated from mains voltages and all mains circuits have adequate insulation.

An advantage with the current transformers is that they don't connect to mains voltage, they only detect the magnetic field around the insulated wire.

davidcoton

Thu Oct 10, 2019 9:19 am

LDR or photodiode has the advantage of being separate from the supply circuit, therefore faults in the monitor will not affect the light.