Involute

Using a desktop PC for Pi development

Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:36 pm

Noob here. I've had a Pi 1 and a Pi 2 which I basically just powered up and never did anything with because I didn't have an application in mind. Now I have an application, and a Pi 4, and I'm thinking more seriously about the mechanics of developing a Pi application.

I can hook up a separate monitor/keyboard/mouse, but that takes up a lot of space on my desk. I'd anticipated this with the previous Pis and tracked down an Atrix Lapdock (for my purposes, a nearly ideal solution) to address it, but I've never been able to get the Atrix to work with a Pi. Another solution would be to use my Windows 10 desktop's monitor/keyboard/mouse, and there seem to be several ways of doing this. Is there any one way that's considered best? Thanks for any tips and pointers to guides/tutorials.

trejan

Re: Using a desktop PC for Pi development

Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:39 pm

Use VNC + SSH to do everything over the network or buy a KVM to switch your keyboard/mouse/display between your PC and the RPi.

Andyroo

Sat Jul 20, 2019 9:09 pm

I have a Samba share set up to the directory I am developing in and use Visual Studio Code to edit files in but save them on the Pi.

I then have a couple of ssh sessions (often with TMUX running) to execute the programs. If it’s a GUI that I need, then I’ll use VNC to do the testing or plug a screen etc it.

I’ve not tried a keyboard/video/mouse (KVM) switch - I would expect it to have to be an electronic on to work though.

I also have a VM with the Raspberry Pi Desktop for PC/Mac available if I need it.

The above is based on a Mac but I expect a P?c could do the same :lol:

W. H. Heydt

Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:33 am

Andyroo wrote:
I’ve not tried a keyboard/video/mouse (KVM) switch - I would expect it to have to be an electronic on to work though.