RDK

Object Programming in Python

Sat Apr 06, 2019 12:59 pm

I'm an old time programmer brought up writing Fortran programs, ie what folks now call Procedural Programming. I've written a few things in Python, but for sure have not used many of the object-oriented features which are available.

I'm reading a couple books right now on the subject, but they mostly discuss theory or creating your own classes. What I really want is a way to find/list the classes and methods which already exist and are generally available in Python when using the IDLE interface.

I'm somewhat used to using Visual Basic for Applications (VBA) to write macros for Excel. In the VBA editor environment there is an 'object browser' which helps.

Is there anything available for Python newbies? Or, how did you folks learn about all of these objects and their methods?....RDK

Andyroo

Re: Object Programming in Python

Sat Apr 06, 2019 1:34 pm

Not a complete answer by miles (as I am in the same learning stage as you with Python) but for a list of modules I use https://docs.python.org/3/py-modindex.html

From within Python 3, the following may help a little:

Code: Select all

help('modules')
and from the command line

pydoc modules
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

RDK

Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:14 pm

Thanks....good to know I'm not the only one out walking in the wilderness

I'll check these out....RDK

Andyroo

Sat Apr 06, 2019 3:33 pm

I’m so well lost some days with the programming side even my GPS says do not start from here!

I old enough to remember Borland introducing OOP to Pascal just as I stepped into RPG and COBOL for a challenge running AS/400 and now find four spaces a pain to remember :lol:

Hopefully we will get a few more adding to the thread (please)...
Need Pi spray - these things are breeding in my house...

RDK

Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:47 am

Currently I'm writing code on my Windows 10 Pro laptop using IDLE and then transferring the code to a Raspberry Pi to run.