Page 1 of 1

Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:20 am
by Nathalia21
I have 3.5 inch touch display in Raspberry Raspbian.

Only problem i have is that some windows like Terminal preferences is too big so i cannot click buttons in bottom of window.

Is there any fix for this?

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:04 am
by Imperf3kt
You need to adjust your framebuffer dimensions.

Try adding this to config.txt

Code: Select all

framebuffer_width = 320
framebuffer_height = 240

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:56 pm
by Nathalia21
Thanks. I did that but Terminal preferences window is still too big.

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:01 pm
by DirkS
Nathalia21 wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:56 pm
Thanks. I did that but Terminal preferences window is still too big.
Try increasing the values. E.g. x1.5 (480 x 360)

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:49 pm
by Imperf3kt
DirkS wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 6:01 pm
Nathalia21 wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 5:56 pm
Thanks. I did that but Terminal preferences window is still too big.
Try increasing the values. E.g. x1.5 (480 x 360)
That shouldn't help.
The issue is these small screens are 320*240 and Raspbian is trying to output a resolution designed for 1280*720 or larger- you cannot cram all that data into an area a quarter its size, so you need to tell Raspbian to go even smaller at the framebuffer.

If 320*240 is still too large, then you may not be able to shrink it any more than it already is.

Just checking, but you did save the file and reboot, right?

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 1:18 am
by DirkS
Imperf3kt wrote:
Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:49 pm
If 320*240 is still too large, then you may not be able to shrink it any more than it already is.
320x240 is the normal size of pretty much every 3.5" I have seen so far.

In order to fit larger, fixed sized windows you will have to make the framebuffer larger than that size.

TBH I think that these small screens are useless for displaying standard GUI desktops.
Good for a custom touch interface, though

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 2:23 am
by Imperf3kt
Oh, my mistake, you are correct, I had it backwards.

More info
viewtopic.php?t=136850#p909750

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:13 am
by Nathalia21
Yes i saved and rebooted. Screen size is 480x320.

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 4:41 am
by tmw921
I want to change the size of windows I have open like the command prompt for instance. I open the command prompt on my 3.5 incher and have to drag it around the shrink it to fit the screen. My desktop is the perfect size I just want the windows I have open to default smaller. Is this how?

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 4:45 am
by tmw921
I want to change the size of windows I have open like the command prompt for instance. I open the command prompt on my 3.5 incher and have to drag it around the shrink it to fit the screen. My desktop is the perfect size I just want the windows I have open to default smaller. Is this how? Internet browser and command prompt are to big so far.

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 5:17 am
by W. H. Heydt
It won't really help...but the same problems occur with the RPF 7" screen.

Re: Window too big in 3.5 inch display

Posted: Thu May 23, 2019 1:00 pm
by klricks
tmw921 wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 4:45 am
I want to change the size of windows I have open like the command prompt for instance. I open the command prompt on my 3.5 incher and have to drag it around the shrink it to fit the screen. My desktop is the perfect size I just want the windows I have open to default smaller. Is this how? Internet browser and command prompt are to big so far.
For lxterminal:
[Edit] --> [Preferences] --> [Display]
Change Default Window Size then exit and restart lxterminal

For Browser:

Code: Select all

chromium-browser --window-size=600,400
Adjust size to fit your screen