Boca

Pi as heating/elec failure alarm

Sat Mar 03, 2018 5:02 pm

Hi,
as background, I am a complete newbie to Pi and its capabilities. In the past, I have programmed macros/PLC and currently run a Windoze free household as a Linux Mint advocate.

Assuming that I have not burnt bridges with my new community....... :?:

I am looking to set up an alarm so that, if the heating fails while I am on a winter holiday, I can get an alert to my mobile:-

Focusing on Pi options:-
  • Is the on-board ambient temp sensor adequate ?
    In the case of a power-failure, any wi-fi/broadband options would also die, is there an option to directly SMS the alert?
    How easy is it to have a battery backup so that if the power, and hence heating, fails, Pi could still alert me?
Ideally, I would like to be able to order a "packaged solution" which had the above hardware capability/options and "only" required programming.
TIA, Tony

PS future "projects" could be to use Pi as a VPN (?)

wh7qq

Re: Pi as heating/elec failure alarm

Sun Mar 04, 2018 2:29 am

The built in temp sensor (vcgencmd measure_temp) does not report ambient temperature but the actual chip temperature of the cpu. Depending on cpu activity level and actual ambient temps especially if a case is used, it will not reflect environmental temps well. I would suggest using a ds18b20, especially the version that is packaged in a metal tube with several feet of lead wire attached. It can be positioned to be removed from any heat generated by the RPi.

Presumably, in the event of a power failure, even if you have back-up power for the RPi, your LAN will go down and hence your internet connection. If your internet connection is immune (for example, a DSL line) and you are able to back up the entire chain...modem, router and RPi, you could get out a message, email or whatever.