juan2003

Problem with Powered USB Hub. Please help!

Thu Oct 11, 2012 1:08 am

Hi,

Im a newbie with the raspberry pi (got mine yesterday) and Im planning to create a media center with it. For that I would like to attach a 500GB usb hdd that I already own.

Right now Im trying xbian but I already tried raspbmc and the same thing happened. Im using an 8GB SD for the OS, a 1.0A cellphone charger to power the pi, samsung lcd tv for display (hdmi).

For what I read I need a powered usb hub in order to power the usb hdd, so I bought one. I bought a "soyntec" powered hub with 7 usb ports (Model Nexoos 395, just for the record).

If I connect the keyboard into one of the pi's usb ports and the hub on the other (without anything plugged into the hub and without powering the hub), everything works well. If I add a 16GB pendrive in the hub (wihtout powering the hub), the pi recognizes the pendrive and works fine. If I unplug the pendrive from the hub and I plug the hub's power cord in order to get it powered (without plugging any usb device, just the hub to the pi), everything works well.

The problem comes when I try to plug anything into the hub after is powered. If I plug either the pendrive (which worked in the hub before powering the hub) or the usb hdd, the screen starts to "flicker" (black screen, back to normal for a second, black screen, and so on).

So the problem seems to be if I plug something into the hub when the hub is powered.... because if the hub is not powered, it seems to work. But if I dont power the hub I wont be able to use my hdd which is my objective.

I would really appreciate it if you could help me with this because all the uses that I thought for my pi rely on the usb hdd (media player, torrent seedbox, NAS).

Thanks in advance, and by the way excellent job with the PI, you are really inspiring the next generation of engineers. I wish I would had one back when I was on school, this is a great thing.

Juan

penguintutor