Koertjuh

Wake up raspberry pi via script

Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:42 pm

Hi,

I'm not very experienced in linux and need a good way to restart or sleep and wake up a raspberry pi during night time. Is there a way for that?

Thanks in advance.

Koert

asandford

Re: Wake up raspberry pi via script

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:14 am

Koertjuh wrote:
Mon Sep 25, 2017 7:42 pm
Hi,

I'm not very experienced in linux and need a good way to restart or sleep and wake up a raspberry pi during night time. Is there a way for that?

Thanks in advance.

Koert
The PI has no power mangement; can't sleep, hibernate or wake up. The PI is (under raspbian) in one of 3 states: power applied and CPU running OS, power applied and CPU halted / not running OS, and power not applied. You can reboot from 2 with hardware on the run pads.

You might as well just leave it on as the power usage is minimal (unless there is more to it that you haven't mentioned).

DougieLawson

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:30 am

WittyPi2 probably solves the problem.
http://www.uugear.com/product/wittypi2/
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

asandford

Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:57 am

DougieLawson wrote:
Tue Sep 26, 2017 12:30 am
WittyPi2 probably solves the problem.
http://www.uugear.com/product/wittypi2/
My supplier charges ~13p/KWh, so costs around (based on 5W usage) ~ £5.70/year.

That device adds 3 years costs.

Martin Frezman

Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:24 am

A lot of people are baked into a philosophy of "things must be turned off when they are not in use". Relics of an earlier age when:

1) Devices all used lots of power (like a 100W light bulb)
2) Devices generated lots of heat (largely as a result of the previous point) and so were fire hazards if left on unattended.
3) Electricity was expensive.

Hard to shake old habits.