User avatar
RDK
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:19 am
Location: Wyoming and France

Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Thu Aug 24, 2017 7:42 pm

I've done this before but today I can not get it to work! Running Jessie on a Raspberry Pi v2.

Working from the GIT site (https://github.com/simsong/tcpflow/) I'm trying to install the latest version of TCPFLOW. I have done the apt-get update and then the upgrade so I'm sure the OS is up-to-date. When I run the

Code: Select all

git clone --recursive https://github.com/simsong/tcpflow.git
command it seems to run ok with no error messages. However when I try to run the rest of the commands:

Code: Select all

 cd tcpflow
bash bootstrap.sh
./configure
make
sudo make install  
if fails on the

Code: Select all

bash bootstrap.sh
line saying that bootstrap.sh does not exist!

If I list the new tcpflow directory, sure enough there is no bootstrap.sh file.

What have I done wrong? Thanks....RDK

DirkS
Posts: 9956
Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:46 pm
Location: Essex, UK

Re: Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:00 pm

Looking at the git repo the filename is bootstrap.bash instead of bootstrap.sh

User avatar
RDK
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:19 am
Location: Wyoming and France

Re: Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:14 pm

Thanks. I thought I tried that, but just now it seems to be working. Another senior moment.....RDK

User avatar
RDK
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:19 am
Location: Wyoming and France

Re: Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Thu Aug 24, 2017 8:52 pm

Hmmmm, still having issues,

Code: Select all

bash bootstrap.bash
ran but gave errors for missing modules. I ran this to correct that problem:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update --fix-missing
sudo apt-get install git gcc g++ automake autoconf libpcap-dev libboost-dev libssl-dev zlib1g-dev libcairo2-dev
Rerunning

Code: Select all

bash bootstrap.bash
now gave these messages:
autom4te: cannot create autom4te.cache: No such file or directory
autoheader: '/usr/bin/autom4te' failed with exit status: 1
autom4te: cannot create autom4te.cache: No such file or directory
aclocal: error: echo failed with exit status: 1
autom4te: cannot create autom4te.cache: No such file or directory
autom4te: cannot create autom4te.cache: No such file or directory
automake: error: autoconf failed with exit status: 1
be sure to run ./configure
Now when I try to run

Code: Select all

./configure
I get the command not found error. By the way, I tried

Code: Select all

 ./configure.ac 
which is another file in the tcpflow directory without success.

This whole process is totally different from the previous times I've run it and does not follow the docs on the GIT site. I'm confused and frustrated....RDK

User avatar
RDK
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:19 am
Location: Wyoming and France

Re: Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:37 am

I just noticed the following comments on the git site. Now, I'm wondering if I should have run one of these scripts before I started the install? If yes, which one would correspond to Raspbian Jessie on my Pi v2 ?
To compile for Linux Be sure you have the necessary precursors. There are files in the root directory that will do this for you, depending on your host operating system:
CONFIGURE_ARCH_17_8.sh
CONFIGURE_FEDORA_18.sh
CONFIGURE_FEDORA_26.sh
CONFIGURE_UBUNTU_16_04.sh
Thanks...RDK

User avatar
RDK
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 10:19 am
Location: Wyoming and France

Re: Installing TCPFLOW from the GIT site

Sat Aug 26, 2017 2:29 pm

OK, these issues have been resolved. The issue around the configure.sh vs configure.bash has been fixed by the TCPFLOW developers. The file has been renamed to match the documentation.

The "cannot create" errors after I ran the

Code: Select all

bash configure.bash
file the second time were permission errors due to my having run the initial git cloning as root but the subsequent commands as my normal user.

For Raspbian Jessie there is no need to run any of the CONFIGURE_???.sh scripts.

Now the installation has completed without any errors.....RDK

Return to “Beginners”