Chemuel

help a noob control 8 motors and a sensor

Wed Jul 12, 2017 7:11 pm

Greetings, everyone!

I have come to humbly ask/beg for help from someone who is already immersed in this amazing technology... a friend of mine, an artist, intends to create a piece using sensors and moving parts and we decided to use the raspi to control things. Sadly, I have been severely sick over the past few weeks and have not been able to do my research properly, now time is running out.

What we need: A system that can pick up info from at least one sensor (motion or distance) and control at least eight motors individually - only direction and on/off, speed should be constant, along with a power supply that will work and not fry anything. Controlling and supplying some LEDs would be nice but is not required.

I am an acceptable programmer, not good with all the new library stuff but I can build obscure drivers (stopped coding about 15 years ago...) and my friend is willing and capable of building/soldering just about anything. We do have a basic grasp on how to assemble and run the pi, however the sheer amount of options thereafter is completely overwhelming for a new-comer and all the details that need attention make it hard to just "find my thing" as mistakes seem to be able to fry builds easily. It probably does not help that I totally sogg in all things e-tech, so I would ask You to be patient and mention "basic" stuff that might be obvious to anyone less incompetent. We don't need a beautiful and elegant solution, anything will do, as long as it works.

I realize that it's not exactly great style to ask someone to basically do the brain work for us, but I hope someone who is up to date on the material would find this trivial and could point us in the right direction.

tech-mech

Re: help a noob control 8 motors and a sensor

Thu Jul 13, 2017 4:57 am

Reading a 'sensor' is a broad issue as different sensors have different interfaces.