berighteous

how do you hide all the boot text?

Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:47 pm

hi! When I start my pi I don't want to see miles of text I don't care about scrolling up the screen. Can I hide that junk and put a splash screen up instead?

Thanks

dot-notdot

Re: how do you hide all the boot text?

Mon Sep 17, 2012 8:48 pm

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 9&p=174897

Should work nicely for you but there's nothing on how to get a splash screen up as I'm no expert with a frame buffer

berighteous

Tue Sep 18, 2012 12:25 am

wow that's complicated.

This linux experience is totally backwards. It should NOT show all that boot text unless you WANT to see it! It should hide it all until you ASK to see it, like every other operating system.

you should have to work TO see the text, not have to work NOT to see it.

I mean really, who critically reads at all that stuff after they get the machine booting correctly the first time? Not every boot. It becomes just an endless stream of garbage we're forced to look at .

Thanx for the link. If I can figure it out it'll be useful. I only want to be able to turn my pi on and then have an arcade game magically appear a few seconds later.

teeth_03

Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:06 am

its there for debugging reasons

and lets face it,especially the versions of linux we are running on the Pi, there WILL be bugs

have you booted Windows into safe mode recently? Its basically the same thing.

berighteous

Tue Sep 18, 2012 3:57 am

yes, but windows only does it when you specifically ask to boot in safe mode. Would it have killed someone to just have a quiet = yes or no ? lol.

I tried editing the files and I monkeyed up something so I had to wipe the sd and berry boot again. <sigh>

malakai

Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:24 am