CecilWard

Headless setup for disabled user

Thu Dec 01, 2016 7:29 am

(Closely related to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=91&t=167063&p=1075464&h ... s#p1075464)

I'm wondering how to set up a Pi in headless mode? Out of the box, is there a way I can log in to Raspbian over the LAN, to a Pi without a screen or keyboard?

Assuming this isn't possible, how much help will I need to get from someone else to get to the point where I can administer the Pi remotely? A friend has prepared a bootable Raspian SD card for me already, so the initial steps of downloading and installing an o/s are done.

Experience - FYI I'm a very experienced C systems programmer but I've never used a Linux box before. Amazingly.

I'm thinking about using SSH, RDP or VNC (or X11 even). I will need to log in to the Pi from an iPad, my only workstation currently. (Yes, insane, I know, but physical and cognitive limitations have meant that I'm restricted to using an iPad all the time now.) I will be going in over an Ethernet LAN or wireless LAN, I have both options.

To edit files remotely from the iPad, it looks like I will need to be using WebDAV or (S)FTP at a pinch, because of the limited range of communications protocols my favourite iPad text editor can handle. Although SMB would be my first choice, the available SMB-client apps available on the iPad seem to be utterly useless because as far as I can see, they don't interwork with or expose services to other apps, in the typical crippled iPad fashion.

Any tips gratefully received.

pi-anazazi

Re: Headless setup for disabled user

Thu Dec 01, 2016 9:47 am

Hi!

After burning the image (latest raspian, I assume here) to the SD card make a file named "ssh" in the boot partition and boot the thing up.

Then you should have a ssh console with user pi and password raspberry.

Then follow this how-to and you have a vncserver running on boot:

viewtopic.php?f=66&t=123457
Kind regards

anazazi

jahboater

Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:18 am