sakai4eva

I have no idea what I'm doing

Wed Aug 01, 2012 3:55 am

Hi guys!

The community here seems a little less hostile towards well-behaved, if ignorant beginners, so I'll start here.

I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing, or how I'm going to do anything with the Pi, but I do have hopes of turning it into a media center for streaming movies from my primary PC.

I have about 15 minutes experience of Ubuntu, my main PC runs Windows 7, but I'm willing to learn.

So where, and how do I get started?

joan

Re: I have no idea what I'm doing

Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:00 am

I wouldn't have thought the machine would have been suitable for that application. I doubt the CPU or network subsystems are fast enough.

Why not just stream from your primary PC?

bredman

Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:02 am

For absolute beginners, there is a lot of information in the free MagPi magazine.
www.themagpi.com

To stream movies, you will probably need to use one of the XBMC distributions. Search this forum for XBMC.

worm

Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:32 am

Yeah, for a complete novice, you're probably looking at an XBMC install - such as OpenElec, RaspBMC or the newer XBian (see the MediaCentre/Gaming subforum) - you simply have to download an image, flash it to your SD card and away you go!

Not sure about streaming, but as commented above, the Pi may struggle. I'm using XBian/OpenElec to output directly to my TV via HDMI -mounting the library from my NAS, and it's working very well, but I think streaming might be a step too far.

That said, XMBC will certainly allow streaming via uPnP, so give it a try!

scep

Wed Aug 01, 2012 9:57 am

welcome to the fourms sakai4eva. The XBMC install is definitely the way to go for a beginner. It really is as simple as worm says, you can have XBMC running with no knowledge at all of Linux.