Tom Lewis
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:14 pm

Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Sat Jul 21, 2012 5:50 pm

Does the new Raspbian-weezy image come with apache 2 pre-installed and running? Without checking I installed lighttpd and edited the index file to display a raspberry pi logo in the /var/www
But on a reboot, I saw that " starting web server: apache2apache2 "

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Sat Jul 21, 2012 6:19 pm

You needed to run "sudo apt-get install apache2" for the previous copy so I assume it's the same for this one.

ruuning the apt-get if apache2 is allready there it will just tell you.

[edit]
I just checked it's not preinstalled "sudo apt-get install apache2" installs all you need for a basic appache2 server
[/edit]
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

Tom Lewis
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:14 pm

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:38 pm

It must come with apache pre-installed and running I just uninstalled lighttpd with the following:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get --purge remove lighttpd

Rebooted, and the Pi still hosts the website! So I just checked and apache2 is installed at /etc/init.d/apache2
This is fantastic, How was this not advertised that you can host a website out of the box with Raspbian!

User avatar
Jim JKla
Posts: 2218
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 11:15 pm
Location: Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 7:03 pm

I don't know how it went unadvertised I've only found out what I have by experimentation ;)
Noob is not derogatory the noob is just the lower end of the noob--geek spectrum being a noob is just your first step towards being an uber-geek ;)

If you find a solution please post it in the wiki the forum dies too quick

asb
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 853
Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:16 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:42 pm

The Foundation Raspbian image most certainly does not have Apache2 preinstalled and running

alias_neo
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 8:55 am
Location: London, England
Contact: Website

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:59 am

asb wrote:The Foundation Raspbian image most certainly does not have Apache2 preinstalled and running
Is this still true? Because on an (almost) fresh instal, I SSH'd in last night to find apache2 running, so I hit port 80 in my browser and it was indeed serving up pages.

I say almost fresh because the only change I had made was to install (and subsequently run) a ready build binary of XBMC.

Unfortunately it seems to have been built without CEC support so I'm going to have to figure out how to remove it.
http://2byt.es - Just my two bytes - RPi - Android - Arduino - Blog

cha0s_619
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:03 pm

Re: Raspbian-weezy Does it come running Apache 2?

Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:10 pm

Do any of the OSes that come with the NOOBS installer have apache pre-installed?

Can I download .deb installers for desktop apache, php & MySQL/SQLite? I desperately need to get this set up so I can practice web development but my problem is currently I have no internet access at home so I can't stall via apt-get. Any ideas to help an internet-poor geek? :)

Return to “Beginners”