Mattradius

Questions about Eclipse

Mon Mar 11, 2013 10:01 pm

Well this is my first post, and I'm a little worried I'm about to sound like an idiot so please bear with me.

I'm a fairly recent Computer Science graduate (2011), and as part of my degree I learned VB and C++ using the Visual Studio development package. Outside of that I have very little experience with other environments, save Eclipse, which I started playing around with in my final year as I wanted to try my hand at Java programming. I didn't get very far but enjoyed the language.

I've just picked up a Raspberry Pi specifcally because I've missed programming (my current career doesn't require it), so thought I'd pick up Java again where I left off and was looking for advice on where best to start. Sadly the internet has been most unhelpful, and different people say different things. I have some ideas of what I want to do, but am unsure.

Essentially it boils down to this:

I'm aware that I can simply install Eclipse and run it on the RPi, but most people claim that it's very slow and is best run on a dedicated linux machine that you connect the Pi to. While I have access to a desktop Linux machine, the sorts of programming/coding I'm looking to do will be very basic. We're talking no GUIs yet, just command line imputs, array lists, loops and simple read-write commands. People have mentioned performance issues but realistically am I likely to suffer performance issues at this level, or am I going to be fine until I start to complile more substantial programs? Similarly, do I need to partition my drive in order to install a Java Environment?

Feel free to ask questions if it would help you give better advice. I'm not being deliberately vague, just trying to be concise.

Mat

crackers

Re: Questions about Eclipse

Tue Mar 12, 2013 5:26 am