D9M2W

Java Resources for Absolute Beginners

Sun Mar 01, 2015 2:40 pm

Hello guys and gals,

How abouts did you all get into learning how to program and understand Java?

Personally I think the sheer amount of resources available can make it difficult to actually start learning. So because of that, lets try build a good list etc of documentation or tutorials, videos etc etc to help newbies learn.

:EDIT:

Here are some useful tutorials and resources for newbies like myself!

Official Oracle Resources
Java: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/
JavaFX: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/8/javase- ... logies.htm
Java Overview/Documentation: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/7/docs/ap ... mmary.html
Data Types: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/ ... types.html

Object Orientated Principles
Abstract Methods and Classes: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/ ... tract.html
Interfaces: http://docs.oracle.com/javase/tutorial/ ... rface.html

Java For Game Development
http://www.cokeandcode.com/main/

Udemy
Java for Complete Beginners: https://www.udemy.com/java-tutorial/
Last edited by D9M2W on Sun Mar 08, 2015 10:30 am, edited 4 times in total.

Fidelius

Re: Java Resources for Absolute Beginners

Mon Mar 02, 2015 7:04 am

For international readers I like SUN's and now Oracle's official The Java Tutorials a lot.
And its additional FX tutorial.

For German readers I like the OpenBooks Java ist auch eine Insel. (In English: Java is also an Island)
And its part II: Java 7 - Mehr als eine Insel. (In English: Java is more than an Island)

For people learning game programming with Java I recommend the smart British Kevin Glass' tutorials Coke and Code -- they're not for absolute Java beginners, but explain important game programming methods in a "keep it simple" way well suited also for beginners.