thak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Fri Dec 12, 2014 12:36 pm

Hi!

Maybe it's a dumb question... But, how do I install your emu on a rasp?
When i check you "READ ME" file (yes some of us actually read them :) ) it say :
"1. unpack uae4all"
and i'm lost (yeah first step, allready lost....) unpack where?
and when i use the internet browser of the raspbian distro (desktop mode) i can't reach you ftp adress :/

any help would be great, and sorry for asking, i try to learn step by step with linux :p

welshy
Posts: 1667
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 2:07 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:36 am

thak
Take a look at the first page of the thread, I added some detail on running uae4all2, but basically 'unpack' just means uncompress. From XWindows (Desktop environment), open the File Manager and put it in the /home/pi Directory and extract it (uncompress) by right clicking on your mouse and select ‘extract here’ and it will be uncompressed into the original Files. Then follow the previous instructions to run uae4all2.

PS If your having trouble downloading the files from your RPi (the default internet browsers do have some issues with regards to this!), just download them on another device and transfer with a USB Memory Stick!
"The list of things I have heard now contains everything!"

thak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sat Dec 13, 2014 11:45 am

Hi,

Ok thx welshy, i'll give this a try this afternoon :)

thak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:17 pm

So,

After your explanation, i was able to install it correctly and test Apidya, for old good memories ^^
With a logitech K400 it's a mess to control but on the other hand everything running fine on a raspberry pi model A + :)

User avatar
rSl
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:16 am
Location: computer

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sat Dec 13, 2014 8:52 pm

good you made it thak!
and thanks for rtfm. ;)
have fun!
and thanks welshy for further explaining.

ps.
down with webbrowsers that can't use ftp urls! ;)

mccarthy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:25 pm

I'm curious about your settings. My pi is overclocked to 950MHz. Sound is stuttering. I've made the changes to the file mentioned in the readme, the "@pi..."-thing. Do you have some advice for me? Do you suggest building a newer version on my own?
Cheers

User avatar
rSl
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:16 am
Location: computer

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sun Dec 21, 2014 8:55 pm

hi mccarthy

my config is the one in the .tgz release, in the conf dir.
sound works most of the time stutterfree with this one when
using ocs/ecs a500 games.
demos are often pushing the limits a bit, so frameskip set
to "1" could help here.

sometimes i get slight stuttering when loading, but after
this most games i tried are playing pretty nice.
a1200 games are stuttering, a way to utilize
the vc4 gpu would be cool, but this is a pipedream, for now. ;)

i use the inbuilt 3,5mm jack for audio out with raspbian cut down to a minimum without x running in the background.
maybe you can find some cpu-hogging programs using the
"top" command on the console to free some cpu cycles on
your pi.

i don't think building your own uae helps here as the makefile from amigagamer is optimizing for the pi-cpu already.
but feel free to experiment, hey it's free software! :)

hope this helps!

AmigaGamer
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Mon Dec 22, 2014 12:12 am

mccarthy

as said by RSI you probably will need frameskip 1 even for a500 games
youll definitely need to frameskip if your attempting ecs/aga

one other possible problem is if your screen is rendering @60hz , try setting your pi screenmode to a @50hz resolution if your playing pal games.

also try out "chips" uae4all which is based on uae4all v1, it contains a faster 68000 core

mccarthy
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:27 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:51 pm

Thanks for the replies guys. I'll give it a shot as soon as I'm at home. Which mode are you using? Does it help to use a lower one in the config.txt?
Cheers

sphaero
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:40 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact: Website

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:19 pm

Hey RSi,

I've been going through the sources and have put them on github:

https://github.com/sphaero/uae4all-rpi

The makefiles are quite a mess. :)
How did you build your version? On the RPI or using a cross compiler?
I was hoping to build this for x86 or x86_64 architecture so it would be easier to play with the code.

I was wondering if the special version of guichan is needed or if a regular guichan can be used. I've included the SDL12-kms-dispmanx as a submodule in the git repo so it is linked to the github repo of SDL12-kms-dispmanx.

Rg,

Arnaud
--
http://twitter.com/sphaero
http://twitter.com/z25org

sphaero
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:40 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact: Website

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Tue Dec 23, 2014 4:47 pm

K, at least I know the makefile is made for older versions of gcc. Now I need to get beyond memory alignment errors:

Code: Select all

In file included from src/include/memory-uae.h:36:0,
                 from src/audio.cpp:21:
src/include/maccess.h: In function ‘uae_u32 do_get_mem_long(uae_u32*)’:
src/include/maccess.h:25:46: error: cast from ‘uae_u32* __restrict__ {aka unsigned int* __restrict__}’ to ‘uae_u32 {aka unsigned int}’ loses precision [-fpermissive]
    b |= do_get_mem_word((uae_u16 *)((uae_u32)a + 2));
It's probably not fit for 64bit architectures
--
http://twitter.com/sphaero
http://twitter.com/z25org

User avatar
rSl
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:16 am
Location: computer

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:38 pm

thanks sphaero! :)

verry nice! just had a quick look and it seems the
makefile is the one for pandora and not for the rpi.
the right one is the makefile.rpi.

i did the build on the rpi with raspbian's gcc 4.7.2.
buildtime was around 40 minutes without swapping using
default memory split, so not too bad i think.
haven't tried on other arches.

the included guichan src is the one developer tomb released
with the sources and it should be somehow "bugfixed" and
seems newer than the official one.
using this my uae4all gui is less crashy,
so it would be a good idea to add this too me thinks.

fyi, the dispmanx-sdl lib is only needed runtime to accelerate
the framebuffer, so you can build against a standard
sdl too.

i will put up 2 changed files for the keyboardmapping
changes on the ftp soon so you can diff them in,


so thanks and... MERRY XMASS!!! :)

sphaero
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:40 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact: Website

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Fri Dec 26, 2014 11:58 am

I'm still working my way through the makefile changing it for cross compilation. I've almost got it compiled!

Would be nice if you could send your diff as a pull request. If you're not familiar with it:
1: create a github account
2: clone the repo I created
3: on your own machine install git and do: git clone https://github.com/youraccount/uae4all-rpi
4: make changes to the source
5: commit your changes: git commit -a
6: push your changes to github: git push origin master
7: on the github site create a Pull Request from your repo to mine.

This way we can track changes and others can follow as well.

Rg,

Arnaud
--
http://twitter.com/sphaero
http://twitter.com/z25org

AmigaGamer
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2014 9:02 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:39 pm

Sphaero,

FYI theres already a repository on https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2

this is the git tree of the main android author, he has incorporated the main raspberry pi changes + makefile

sphaero
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2014 9:40 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact: Website

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Sun Jan 04, 2015 3:11 pm

I know but when I asked him he stated that it's only the android port of uae.

https://github.com/lubomyr/uae4all2/issues/1

So I started searching the forums stumblin on many different versions of uae4all. Only the original works fine on x86 but the later developments seems to have undone that.

Btw has anybody had any luck with real joysticks? Mine (usb joypad) isn't working and going through the code it seems the joysticks are emulated by some custom hardware of devices those ports (dreamcast, dingo, pandora, etc)
--
http://twitter.com/sphaero
http://twitter.com/z25org

exobuzz
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:22 pm

I'm interested in including this updated uae4all in RetroPie - but it's rather confusing (despite some explanations on this thread) on what is going on / where the development is happening. Which repository should I be using - this one https://github.com/sphaero/uae4all-rpi ? is it going to be kept up to date with updates and are those doing rpi changes going to use this repository ? if there are a couple of repositories hosting rpi makefiles and similar changes perhaps some efforts can be combined (I understand from this thread that efforts are/have already been made for this)

Seems rather fragmented - would be nice to have some patchsets / diffs to go by to see what has changed from the upstream (is there an upstream repository at all ?) :)

Many thanks.

User avatar
rSl
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:16 am
Location: computer

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:17 pm

@ sphaero
thanks for the github tips!
i'm diving into some gitfoo now and i already have
github_cli (using ruby) running.
(i need this because i use a console webbrowser here
without javascript support and github really wants js for
proper account setup.)

for joystick/gamepad support, sunjammer reported in
this thread that he got his gamepad running fine.


@ exobuzz
hi!
the upstream code for this is the pandora source released
by tomb on the openpandora.org board.
as this is a little bit hard to find, (you have
to search the board and need an account to download)
i put the source on the ftp link (see first post for url).
when integrating into retropie i would use sphaero's
github because my ftp has only a verry limited upload speed
(home adsl link).
currently the rpi source is the vanilla pandora upstream version plus an rpi makefile.
i'm now working on a rpi-only patch for a changed keyboard layout, which i will send to sphaero.

Billy T. Pilgrim
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:26 am

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:46 am

Morning all! First post but I'm not a complete noob (just very nearly one) so hopefully it'll make some sense. I've been tearing my hair out trying to get any version of uae4all working on my pi (the one that comes with retropie just about works, but only in X window, not from the cli) so I'm hoping this one will do the trick.

I just want to make sure I've got everything straight.

If I build uae4all2 from Sphaero's repository above, it should be:
- Working on the Pi
- A little slower than Chips' version, but with more features
- Slightly altered to bring up the menu on a press of F8
- Not able to use cli to load disk images.

Ok, here's my questions.

Does it still automatically load the df0.adf image from the program directory? If so, it should still be possible to use the method at http://ledgerlabs.us/raspberrypi/retrop ... emulation/ to 'fake up' a command line start.

Secondly, apart from the key change are there any differences between the version on Sphaero's git and the version in binary form in the first post of this thread? Probably not worth building it myself if that's the only difference. If it is worth it, though...

Ummm.... how do I actually build it? I've got okay at navigating around using the CLI, running and writing bash scripts and so on but I've not really needed to go into that side of things so far.

Anyway, great project, guys, I'm sure I'll get it working some day! Thanks for bearing with an old fart who grew up with autoexec.bat and config.sys.

lubomyr
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:27 am

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Jan 07, 2015 11:39 am

@sphaero
I not saw any problem with building uae4all2 for x86-platform

For example my build uae4all2 for windows x86
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/477 ... 32-x86.zip

or aros x86
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/477 ... e4all2.zip

User avatar
rSl
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2014 1:16 am
Location: computer

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:53 pm

welcome "on board" billy!

i don't think adf autoload works with this version
as it starts right into it's own gui, sorry.
only after starting one can insert disks manually.
this is not so great for launching adf's directly from eg.
emulationstation, but one still can launch the emu-gui
from there and then insert the disk.

the binary version in the first post link is built from the
same source as at sphaero's github.
so you really should use the binary version for convenience.
the keyboard layout change is not yet in the prebuilt version and also not in the source, but comes next release.

good luck, you'll make it!
amiga power! :)

exobuzz
Posts: 137
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 6:58 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Jan 07, 2015 1:58 pm

Amiga format! ;-)

thanks for the info regarding the new version.

Billy T. Pilgrim
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:26 am

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:01 pm

Thanks for such a speedy response! I'm building a multi-system console into an old PlayStation casing, but I'm wanting to have DOS and Amiga support too, so launching games from EmulationStation would be nice - but if it's not doable, it's not doable (yet...)! ;) I suppose it answers my question of what I'm going to do with games with lots of disks :D

I'll give the binaries a try when I next get onto my Pi then - my time is limited as it's connected to the family TV! I guess I just got confused by stuff in this thread and on the readme on Spaero's git with regard to the controls, but the existing ones will do fine for now.

Once again, thanks to everyone who's hard at work on this project!

Billy T. Pilgrim
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 9:26 am

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:03 am

Right! I've had a go and... (drumroll please)...

It works!

...sort of.

It's starting up fine, I can load adf files and play them, and all is good. The funny bit comes when I go back to the GUI to change disks or to quit. It's shifted halfway up the screen, black on the lower half, and shifted halfway across the screen, wrapping around so that the left half is on the right and the right half is on the left.

- The mouse still works during this bit and I can select any of the options from the part of the GUI I can see.
- If I quit, it quits but doesn't take me back to the Pi's terminal, instead leaving me on a black screen where I can type and the words appear, but nothing else happens.
- If I resume the game, the GUI disappears but then the program shortly crashes, or at least goes to a black screen which I can't seem to get out of and end up having to reboot the Pi.

I wondered if the problem had to do with the GUI libraries various people have mentioned which needed installing. When launching from the provided script I got an error message saying the files in the lib directory were too short or some such thing (I can't be sure what exactly, I'm away from my Pi). I got libguichan and libguichan-sdl as mentioned in welshy's first post in this thread and they installed fine, but I still got the same error, so I temporarily removed all the files from the lib folder thinking the program would have to look in the default location (I don't know libguichan installs to). That got it working, but created the issue above.

Anyone got any bright ideas? I'm just not quite familiar with the internals of Linux to work this one out.

Cheers,
Tom

User avatar
njt1982
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Thu Jan 08, 2015 11:33 pm

I just had exactly the same issue loading Cannon Fodder 1. I pressed F8, the menu was partially off-screen and then it hard-crashed (couldn't even SSH into it to kill it!).

User avatar
njt1982
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 4:10 pm

Re: uae4all2 (Amiga emulator)

Fri Jan 09, 2015 12:05 am

I can see this in the terminal:

"sudo: /usr/pandora/scripts/op_cpuspeed.sh: command not found"

Return to “Gaming”