Page 4 of 5

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 10:55 am
by LeSanglier
Hi,

There is no previous of the source code ?
:oops:

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:04 pm
by Nintendo16kid
Haven't been here in a while lol.
I have tried to get Xonotic to run, but unfortunately no luck. Well, kinda... :(
Image
The mouse was locked in the corner of the screen, but the audio was mostly working but there is a lot of interference through the audio jack, maybe its my own hardware doing that.
This is probably an extremely easy thing I have overlooked.
To get it to sort of work, get the data folder from Xonotic, and use "darkplaces-sdl -**xonoticdatafilename**" to run.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Dec 12, 2014 8:14 pm
by kwadroke
I just tried running Xonotic on the Pi using the "Lower quality download". I too had the mouse pointer stuck, but, I haven't had much luck with the Quake I demo and the mouse (keeps showing "Unknown Command libudev" after a few seconds).
I increased the swap file to 512mb, and added some graphics tweaks in the config. I also extracted all of the .pk3 files to help with CPU/memory usage.
I was able to get a map to load, but doesn't display anything but the HUD, then hangs up the system.
I think I will try to use the older files from here http://forums.xonotic.org/showthread.php?tid=4029 some time in the future and see if it works better.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Jan 29, 2015 12:06 pm
by adih2001
Nice tutorial dude! I am just asking if is possible to run darkpaces engine on raspberry pi model A+ without huge overclocking?

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2015 9:29 am
by KitchUK
Anyone tested performance with this on a RPi2?

On the RPi on 720p I was getting average of 25-30fps with numerous jumps to even 60fps at times. It ran extremely well. I'd be interested to know how it's running with more processing power.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 9:49 am
by Hiradur
Have the changes been merged into the main repository of darkplaces already?

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Feb 13, 2015 11:22 pm
by atheneheaven
Hi
I've followed the instructions to install this on my RPi2 but I get an error when I run the last command.
You may consider adding -basedir /path/to/game to your launch commandline.
Can anyone tell me what that means?

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 12:42 pm
by Trixster
You need to be in the darkplaces directory before typing darkplaces-sdl

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Sun Mar 08, 2015 2:00 pm
by Trixster
The rpi2 gets over 30fps sustained at 1080p with some of the lighting effects dialled down, but the stuttery movement when strafing or going forward/backwards is dreadful. Any ideas on how to improve this?

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Wed Jun 03, 2015 5:52 pm
by autonomous
Trixster wrote:The rpi2 gets over 30fps sustained at 1080p with some of the lighting effects dialled down, but the stuttery movement when strafing or going forward/backwards is dreadful. Any ideas on how to improve this?
You can try changing the sys_ticrate parameter in the darkplaces/id1/config.cfg file. This is a standard quake configuration parameter. The server ticrate was reduced to 10fps to deal with the hideously poor performance of the single core version of the chipset used in the Raspberry PI. You also need to remove or change the config.cfg files cached under ~/.darkplaces.

Description of the sys_ticrate parameter:

Code: Select all

sys_ticrate 0.05 duration of a server frame is in seconds, where 0.05 is 20fps server rate, 0.1 is 10fps (can not be set higher than 0.1), 0 runs as many server frames as possible.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:17 am
by Aaronaurus
Just wondering why the choice to force the resolution based on the boot config? Am I missing something?

Makes it a pain to have to change resolution that way.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:33 pm
by super213
Can some one help! when i try to run it i get this
////////////
darkplaces-sdl: error while loading shared libraries: libtxc_dxtn.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
///////////

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 7:41 am
by Hiradur
super213 wrote:Can some one help! when i try to run it i get this
////////////
darkplaces-sdl: error while loading shared libraries: libtxc_dxtn.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
///////////
Try

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Jul 30, 2015 4:02 pm
by super213
Hiradur wrote:
super213 wrote:Can some one help! when i try to run it i get this
////////////
darkplaces-sdl: error while loading shared libraries: libtxc_dxtn.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
///////////
Try

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0
Fixed it with a reboot. some reason the pi was not behaving correctly. i was a little late before i could edit my post. sorry for wasting your time.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 11:42 am
by KitchUK
Hi Autonomous,

Do you think you will be updating this project anymore? Are there any possibles of adjustment to tailor for the increased CPU power of the Pi 2? Is darkplaces optimized for multi core CPU's?

Thanks,

P.S Could we now maybe run Half Life on the Pi 2? Any plans? (Wishful thinking).

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Fri Sep 18, 2015 8:28 pm
by DougieLawson
Don't hold your breath waiting for a reply as autonomous hasn't visited the forums since Wed 10 Jun 2015, 08:17

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Sat Sep 19, 2015 12:29 pm
by Hiradur

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Tue Oct 13, 2015 3:32 pm
by Thorn
Hi,
Did these changes ever merge with Darkplaces?

If not, could you please release the source?

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 2:13 am
by exobuzz
Seems there is no source available for the rpi port - Been over a year - considering the source is GPL licenced, the rpi modifications should have been made available at the same time as the public binary release. I have removed the binary from RetroPie due to this.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:23 pm
by stuartheath
How do I center the video on my tv. It seems to be shifted to a left bottom corner leaving a border on the top and right side!

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:32 pm
by DougieLawson
stuartheath wrote:How do I center the video on my tv. It seems to be shifted to a left bottom corner leaving a border on the top and right side!
Edit your config.txt and remove all of the overscan lines.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 3:54 pm
by stuartheath
DougieLawson wrote:Edit your config.txt and remove all of the overscan lines.
Thanks that worked, but trying to change the res to 800x600 with no luck, stays at 1080. Changed the config in both id1 folders! Any ideas? Thanks again!

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Mon Jan 04, 2016 4:36 pm
by DougieLawson
If you're able to run the tvservice program it will tell you what modes your display is capable of running.
On non-Raspbian systems you should be able to build tvservice from https://github.com/raspberrypi/userland

The alternative is get a copy of Raspbian booted and running and use the ready built tvservice

tvservice -m CEA;tvservice -m DMT # list all the modes.

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Tue May 31, 2016 11:59 pm
by alfredox123
i did all steps as noted on the readme but i only get black screen after i type dakplaces-sdl, im using raspberry pi 1 model b

Re: NEW: Darkplaces Quake engine up and running on Raspberry

Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2016 1:28 am
by exobuzz
Just FYI - Author has no intention of releasing the source code.

There was an issue open for it - which some comments were made on - the author first claimed their interpretation of the GPL meant they didn't need to release the source as they were not selling it. Then they claimed the sourcecode was "stolen" in a burglary.

Putting this here as the issue was locked and all the replies removed / and the title renamed to try and "hide" the issue.

https://github.com/autonomous1/darkplacesrpi/issues/11