Page 1 of 1

Retropie controller resetting

Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 5:48 pm
by Reav3r66
I have a raspberry pi 3b with the latest version of retropie running on it. Everything was great for a while, as I was using a USB controller for gaming. I just set up a two joy stick controller for an arcade console and now I'm having trouble. Every time I start a game, the second player controls change. Up is down, down is up and the buttons flip all around. I can't find anyone who has reported my similar problem, so I'm turning to the experts for help. I have almost no knowledge of coding, but learn quickly. Thanks!

Re: Retropie controller resetting

Posted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:10 pm
by biskyt
This is due to the auto configs that emulation station creates for retroarch. I had a similar issue that drove me crazy for hours!

The best way to 'reset' is to go to delete the .cfg file for the controller from the retroarch-joypads config folder (configs/retroarch/all/retroarch-joypads - I think, I'm not in front of my pi at the moment).

You should then be able to remap the joystick via emulation station by going to the config inputs menu (start->Configure inputs). This will recreate the config files.

However, you may find like me that the joystick is still messed up in games, even though it works in emulation station. This is due to a bug in emulation station (or an incompatibility with retroarch, I don't know). I found that 'button' IDs for my joypad in retroarch were different to the button ids regognised in retroarch! E.g., input_btn_a had an id of 1 in emulationstation, but retroarch regognised it as id 8. So the auto-config created by emulationstation was totally wrong, and lead to different button presses in games!

I solved this by manually updating the relevant cfg file in the retroarch-joypads folder. I found that all my button Ids were out by a value of 7. Some trial and error is needed though. I found it easiest to use the retroach GUI (RGUI) to identify the button ids by binding the controller via RGUI and then noting which button ID each button showed up as. Note that whatever you bind n RGUI will be overwritten by the cfg file in the retroarch-joypads folder, which is why you need to update the file in there.

I hope that helps get you on the right track!

Re: Retropie controller resetting

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2018 7:57 pm
by Hyperxil
Hi im new to all of this but im facing the same issue. But i don't understand how to fix it. Could you explain and guide me how to fix this? I can access the retropie through wifi but i just don't know what file to edit/change.
I'm using 2 usb zero delay encoders and retropie 4.4
Thanks for any help.