User avatar
Jako
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:02 am
Location: My owner's garage

RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Sun May 24, 2015 2:15 pm

Hi!

I love Sega Arcade games and kick my joypad with games like Daytona2 or Virtua Striker 2.
With the same way like a debian installation I tried to install the awesome SuperModel emulator in the Raspberry 2. The base image was a RetroPie 2.6, nothing more special added before.

This are the steps (Done under x, but i think that this don't mind...):

sudo apt-get install subversion
mkdir Supermodel
cd Supermodel
svn co https://model3emu.svn.sourceforge.net/s ... 3emu/trunk
cd trunk
ln -s Makefiles/Makefile.SDL.UNIX.GCC Makefile
make
cd bin
mkdir Config NVRAM Saves Roms
cp ../Config/Supermodel.ini Config


.....

Now drop some roms in /home/pi/Supermodel/trunk/bin/Roms/...
Then, when try to run the emu

./Supermodel -no-sound -show-fps ./Roms/daytona2.zip

the desktop shell "cries" that don't find the corret GLX screen, blah, blah,... the typical lib fail in some gfx cards. I tried to fix with that (worked on my Ubuntu 10.04 recently):

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri libgl1-mesa-glx
sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-swx11


Again
./Supermodel -no-sound -show-fps ./Roms/daytona2.zip

Image
Image
Image

¡¡¡¡It Works!!!! Very slow, at 2fps, 4fps so much. But load the games, maybe with some tweak it could get a better performance. I see that the CPU level is too high, but the system is stable at every moment, i will try will some multi thread option, etc...

¿Could be the RPI2 powerfull enough to make this emu playable?

Enjoy!!!
Bye! :-)
Sorry, my english is awful, like me. XD

mgoulart
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 8:56 am
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Sun May 24, 2015 2:19 pm

OMG! This is amazing!!!

terminator2k2
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2015 7:25 pm

Re: RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Mon May 25, 2015 5:07 pm

haha no way , would be super...how about sega model 2? would love to make my pi2 into a Daytona usa machine....

User avatar
Jako
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:02 am
Location: My owner's garage

Re: RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Wed May 27, 2015 1:07 pm

Yeah! I are agree with you terminator, a model 2 emu would be possible and playable, but... the only emu that i know is made by elsemi (nebula, cps3, etc...) but their emulators are for windows and without source code, if i dont remember wrong. A shame, is not easy like the model3 install.
But yes, a daytona cabinet with a pi2 inside would be awesome.
Maybe we are at the same point like the RPi1 with mupen64, a hard bone for emulation for the RPi2. The time will talk... :-)
Sorry, my english is awful, like me. XD

thak
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 6:22 pm

Re: RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Wed May 27, 2015 7:49 pm

Hi!
I found a link on 2 other forum that lead to a Linux distrib, with a model2 emulator.
I hope you could use it (i'm too unskilled to do anything :D)

forum.arcadecontrols.com/index.php?topic=128827.0
community.arcadeinfo.de/showthread.php?16069-A-GNU-LINUX-ARCADE-DISTRIBUTION-0-92b

User avatar
Jako
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 8:02 am
Location: My owner's garage

Re: RPI2 - Sega Arcade Model 3 (Supermodel Emu) Working!!!

Thu May 28, 2015 12:08 am

Thanks for the search! The live distro of the link is great, very nice in a usb memory with a gamepad and play it in any computer or laptop. But returning with the Model 2 issue... it runs under wineHQ, ufff, sounds strong for de RPi2 hahaha, but i did not tried that.

https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager. ... n&iId=5809

In years with the Pi1 never felt the need of install wine for anything, but with the Pi2 and the performance it could be interesting. I will google a bit about that and this weekend I will try it. Forgive my lack of info. A newer mame compatible with that romset could be abother option. :-)

I remember to play sometime virtua racing and daytona on my old mamefx-arcade cabinet with a version of, 2010 maybe?

To many open fronts and very few time XD. Sorry
Sorry, my english is awful, like me. XD

Return to “Gaming”