aharonhakohen

Replacing car head unit

Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:32 am

Hi All -

I have searched this forum, and the internet in general, but have come up empty handed.

I am new to Pi, so perhaps there is a reason I cannot find information...

I would like to REPLACE my car's head unit with a Raspberry Pi running Android. I would add a digital to analog audio converter, a USB GPS, a fm tuner, camera, etc.

Am I missing something? Why can I not find even one person attempting the same thing? Most projects have been installing a Pi to an existing head unit, which I do not want to do.

The "cheap" Android head units out there are junk, and I do not want to spend hundreds (at least) of dollars.

Although I am new to Pi, I have experience with car audio, electronics, soldering, etc.

The project seems pretty straight-foward. I know I only gave the very basics, but does anyone have any ideas, comments, or insights? I am all ears...

Thanks!

thagrol

Re: Relacing car head unit

Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:54 am

aharonhakohen wrote:
I would like to REPLACE my car's head unit with a Raspberry Pi running Android. I would add a digital to analog audio converter, a USB GPS, a fm tuner, camera, etc.
Last time I checked there ia no version of android that runs on any Pi model. (Well android things but that isn't stock android)
Attempts to contact me outside of thes forums will be ignored unless signed in triplicate, sent in, sent back, queried, lost, found, subjected to public enquiry, lost again, and finally buried in soft peat for three months and recycled as firelighters

fruitoftheloom

Fri Jun 29, 2018 2:37 pm

aharonhakohen wrote:
Hi All -

I have searched this forum, and the internet in general, but have come up empty handed.

I am new to Pi, so perhaps there is a reason I cannot find information...

Am I missing something? Why can I not find even one person attempting the same thing? Most projects have been installing a Pi to an existing head unit, which I do not want to do.