karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Continuous scroll on RCA video

Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:03 pm

:)
Hi everybody.
I have installed Android on my RPI (android_sd_2).
It starts but during the boot the video goes into a continuous scrolling.

What can I do?

:)

User avatar
Burngate
Posts: 6048
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Berkshire UK Tralfamadore
Contact: Website

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 8:23 am

It's probably nothing to do with Android or indeed the Pi.

You don't say what monitor you're connecting to, so I'm going to assume it's rather old, and a CRT.

It could be that you have one that is NTSC instead of PAL or vice versa. The clue here is that the raspberry is in black/white.
In which case you need to edit config.txt - it's in the patition you can see on a Windows PC. See http://elinux.org/RPi_config.txt
You need to change or add the line for your region:

Code: Select all

# sdtv_mode defines the TV standard for composite output (default=0)
sdtv_mode=0    Normal NTSC
sdtv_mode=1    Japanese version of NTSC – no pedestal
sdtv_mode=2    Normal PAL
sdtv_mode=3    Brazilian version of PAL – 525/60 rather than 625/50, different subcarrier
Otherwise,
Really, really old CRT TVs had a frame hold pot on the back, which you could tweek.
Not quite so old ones had the same control inside.
Or it could be that the monitor is in fact broken, so get another one.

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:21 pm

:)
Ty.
I have edited config.txt
and now it doesn't scroll any more
but it wrote 20 or 30 times something like

"?708_fb_check_var" ..........
and it stops

(the ? is because I can't read the first char.)
:)

User avatar
Burngate
Posts: 6048
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:34 pm
Location: Berkshire UK Tralfamadore
Contact: Website

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 5:46 pm

Now you're beyond my competance. Sounds like Linux is starting, but finding a problem.

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:23 pm

Sounds like the framebuffer is screwing, what do you have it hooked up to

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:03 pm

Tks
I have just connected a TV to rca.

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:27 pm

karlenando wrote:Tks
I have just connected a TV to rca.
If i remember correctly, in our images we enabled a hdmi mode, have you removed the hdmi lines from config.txt

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:31 pm

Yes, I have commented
the line "#disable_overscan=1"

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:33 pm

and now the error is:
"?bcn2708_fb_check_var ....."
and if I strike a key the TV show for a moment
Android coloured and then go back to the error

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:37 pm

karlenando wrote:and now the error is:
"?bcn2708_fb_check_var ....."
and if I strike a key the TV show for a moment
Android coloured and then go back to the error
Can you try on hdmi

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:41 pm

I thought this but I have not a monitor hdmi to use at the moment.
As it give me the prompt, is it possible to activate thightvncserver ?
and ssh?

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:41 pm

karlenando wrote:I thought this but I have not a monitor hdmi to use at the moment.
As it give me the prompt, is it possible to activate thightvncserver ?
and ssh?
The gui should load up after a few mins, however we never tested our build over rca output

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Thu Oct 11, 2012 10:48 pm

sometimes seems to be doing something and I can see
the tv screen half red and blu and the message android
:?
with raspbian everything is ok :?

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:09 am

karlenando wrote:sometimes seems to be doing something and I can see
the tv screen half red and blu and the message android
:?
with raspbian everything is ok :?
What android image are you using?

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 8:46 am

android_sd_2

NickArn
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:23 am

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:29 am

I have the same problem with the sd_2 via RCA. Have adjusted the framebuffer rate, overscan and sdtv aspects/mode without luck. I will however try via HDMI later, when wifey goes to work.

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:50 am

karlenando wrote:android_sd_2
And where did you get it from
I need the link as the image you say isnt one of our names



aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:59 pm

Ok thats the image that wont work
use this instead
http://rosefire.us/~razdroid/aaa801/Gin ... Manager.7z

NickArn
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:23 am

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:10 pm

Superb, thanks your help.

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:22 pm

Tx very much.
I tried but I have had no error but the screen
is black .
I have also modified config.txt inserting
"sdtv_mode=2" but it's the same.
:cry:

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 4:34 pm

karlenando wrote:Tx very much.
I tried but I have had no error but the screen
is black .
I have also modified config.txt inserting
"sdtv_mode=2" but it's the same.
:cry:
post your whole config.txt

karlenando
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 4:54 pm

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:02 pm

That's all :)
#disable_overscan=1
sdtv_mode=2

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Continuous scroll on RCA video

Fri Oct 12, 2012 5:47 pm

karlenando wrote:That's all :)
#disable_overscan=1
sdtv_mode=2
Mhm im not sure whats up with it then, could you adb into it and post a logcat?

Return to “Android”