benzn

VideoCore/EGL on a bare metal OS

Mon Dec 03, 2012 1:13 am

TL;DR: Trying to link against the VC libraries provided with the firmware. Header files expect a real OS with pthreads, I'm nowhere near having an OS that conforms to pthread.

I'm relatively new to RPi (only really started using it yesterday). Started with input02 from Baking Pi (which was an incredible resource), fixed the cache coherency issues around writing to/from the mailbox (it's a shame the tutorials (except CSUD) aren't on GitHub AFAIK where we could submit pull requests/issues) and then managed to modify the terminal/makefile to call C functions that I've set up.

The tipping point for me to buy the RPi and get hacking was the release of at least the user land component of the VC drivers, as I've wondering what it would be like to write an OS with accelerated drawing (read: GPU) as a first principle. Since the documentation here is pretty much non-existant I wanted to verify some assumptions, I've made:

1) I spent a bunch of time grepping around the userland code/linux code/header files and from what I gather, to use EGL and whatnot the Linux driver shuttles along some messages over the VCHI channel (I think #3) of the Mailbox?
2) The static libraries included in the RPi firmware (i.e. libEGL_static.a, etc.) include the routines to talk to the VC through the mailbox. If I can link them, I can use them.
3) Provided I can deduce which messages to send over the VCHI channel (through calling the static libs), I shouldn't actually need any fancy concurrency primitives seemingly required by the header files.

I could comment things out of the header files until gcc stops complaining, or I could just extern the specific functions I need to call (I will probably do this).

Has anyone managed to link against the VC libraries on a bare metal project?

benzn

Re: VideoCore/EGL on a bare metal OS

Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:06 am