khisanth

Cambridge OS tutorial

Sun Sep 30, 2012 3:43 pm

Whilst this is a superb course, is great for explaining how everything works and I have learnt a lot already I have fallen over at the first hurdle i.e. the make command!

You follow everything, install software it asks you to (did this on both Mac OS and Windows), created the main.s file with everything copied in as instructed. It then says to use the make command. Now entering make asks for a target file and destination file, pointing it at main.s gives an error saying no makefile information etc etc.

What am I missing? Anyone recommend a clear tutorial on the make command? I have seen plenty but they are not very beginner friendly or useful :cry:

trinigooner

Re: Cambridge OS tutorial

Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:26 pm

I'm also new to Make. I found this very basic tutorial helpful: http://www.cs.colby.edu/maxwell/courses ... maketutor/

I'm sure there are much better ones out there! I just happened to need this yesterday and it came up pretty early in my google search.
HTH!

Dasaan

Mon Oct 01, 2012 11:02 pm

If you downloaded the Template file structure then you need to run make in the same directory that the Makefile is in.

If you didn't download the Template file structure then I'd highly recommend that you do.

khisanth

Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:03 am

downloaded it but it wasnt in that directory, thanks!

khisanth

Tue Oct 02, 2012 10:08 pm

I have the template, put main.s in that directory with the makefile and get this:

arm-none-eabi-ld --no-undefined -Map kernel.map -o build/output.elf -T kernel.ld
make: arm-none-eabi-ld: No such file or directory
make: *** [build/output.elf] Error 1

markymarc35

Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:18 pm

You have to create a directory called source and put the main.s file in there.

Dasaan

Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:25 pm

Your source files should be in the source directory.
You run make from the directory that has the Makefile in it.

khisanth

Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:42 pm