ruzz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:56 pm

Updating kernel on arch

Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:14 pm

I've cross compiled a kernel for raspian which works, though I'm having some issues with Arch linux.

In fact, I've tried to rule out my build and use the following to copy latest release from the firmware repo:
##########################
sudo ./automount.sh /dev/sdc

sudo cp firmware/boot/kernel.img /pi/boot/
sudo cp firmware/boot/bootcode.bin /pi/boot/
sudo cp firmware/boot/fixup.dat /pi/boot/
sudo cp firmware/boot/start.elf /pi/boot/

sudo rm -rf /pi/lib/modules/*
sudo cp -ar firmware/modules/* /pi/lib/modules/

sudo rm -rf /pi/opt/vc
sudo cp -ar firmware/hardfp/opt/vc /pi/opt/vc

sync
sudo ./autounmount.sh

######################


- This seems to work well for Raspian.

On Arch, even with a kernel I've compiled using the right config.gz from the device seems to be failing to boot. Very early in the process I get:

vchiq_get_state: g_state.remote->initialised != 1 (0).

Screenshot attached.

I assume I must be missing something for Arch, and would appreciate if anyone could fill me in.

Thanks,

-Russ.
Attachments
Arch_failed_boot.jpg
Arch_failed_boot.jpg (58.02 KiB) Viewed 2198 times

aaa801
Posts: 428
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2012 9:06 pm
Location: Berkshire

Re: Updating kernel on arch

Wed Jul 10, 2013 5:38 pm


ruzz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 1:56 pm

Re: Updating kernel on arch

Wed Jul 10, 2013 6:52 pm

Thanks, though I've tried that, it's part of the script abobe.

The same scripts I use seem to work perfectly for raspbian by the way..

Anyone have a good workflow for Arch linux kernel?

Thanks,

-R.

Return to “Linux Kernel”