mihalop

OpenMAX blending of video and alpha mask

Wed Apr 20, 2016 12:50 pm

I am trying to modify omxplayer to allow for a alpha/transparency mask for videos. In the optimal scenario, you would specify multiple " --transparent 'x1 y1 x2 y2' " options to allow for specifying transparent regions within the playback viewport defined by "--win".

I am digging into omxplayer code and OpenMAX IL spec. As far as I have understood up to now, the only way to achieve this is by preparing the mask in a buffer and using OMX_IndexConfigCommonColorBlend or OMX_IndexConfigCommonPlaneBlend to blend the the two components outputs.

Since I have zero experience with OpenMAX, is the above correct? Would this affect video playback performance/load? Has anyone done anything similar?
Yodeck - Digital Signage on the Raspberry Pi
Free Raspberry Pi 3 Player for all screens on Annual Plan

dom
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Re: OpenMAX blending of video and alpha mask

Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:15 pm

OMX_IndexConfigCommonPlaneBlend and OMX_IndexConfigCommonColorBlend are not supported.
You can check the supported parameters for each component here: http://home.nouwen.name/RaspberryPi/doc ... omponents/

Do you really need transparency in the video?
The more usual scenario is to create a RBGA overlay on top of the video which has transparency where you want the video to show (e.g. as Kodi does for GUI overlay).

6by9

Wed Apr 20, 2016 1:27 pm

Adding RGBA support to video_render is on my list of things to do, but it's a long list for the amount of spare time I have.
Not sure if that really helps you that much in this case anyway.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

dividuum

Sat Apr 23, 2016 1:54 pm