esbpgen
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:02 pm

3270 Emulator HELP

Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:57 pm

i have a mainframe image running on Hercules. I use the Hercules GUI.

I do not have a 3270 client on my Pi. I have tried various ways of getting an emulator but have failed. I have managed to get the c3270 suite from source forge but it did not configure correctly (sudo ./configure sudo make sudo make install ---- did not result in a usable executable)

I really want to have the Hercules Emulator and the 3270 terminals on the Pi.

I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me if this is possible and how to do it. I would also really appreciate a verbose answer if possible!!

I really appreciate the help.

Regards

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20451
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:40 pm

esbpgen wrote:i have a mainframe image running on Hercules. I use the Hercules GUI.

I do not have a 3270 client on my Pi. I have tried various ways of getting an emulator but have failed. I have managed to get the c3270 suite from source forge but it did not configure correctly (sudo ./configure sudo make sudo make install ---- did not result in a usable executable)

I really want to have the Hercules Emulator and the 3270 terminals on the Pi.

I would really appreciate it if someone could tell me if this is possible and how to do it. I would also really appreciate a verbose answer if possible!!

I really appreciate the help.

Regards
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 66&t=88341

http://rpitc.blogspot.co.uk

http://austinrobertson.com/blog/2013/01 ... spberry-pi

....etcetera via googling
Retired disgracefully.....

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Thu Dec 18, 2014 8:47 pm

esbpgen wrote: I really want to have the Hercules Emulator and the 3270 terminals on the Pi.
I've had Hercules running on my B & A+. I built x3270 to use with it. Then a friend asked for a copy so I stuck it on Github.
https://github.com/DougieLawson/x3270-4-RaspberryPi
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

esbpgen
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:02 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Dec 20, 2014 12:39 am

Thank you very much for this. Could I ask how I use what you have put up i.e. How do I get a 3270 onto my Pi and run it?

Sorry if this is a bit basic but I've been working on this for quite a while, compiling this and that and ended up no where.

Appreciate the help.

Regards.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Dec 20, 2014 1:24 am

Clone the git stuff
sudo apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/DougieLawson/x3270-4-RaspberryPi
cd x3270*
sudo cp * /usr/local/bin

startx # so you get a desktop

Open a lxterminal window

hercules mvs.cnf &
x3270 -model 3279-2 0010@127.0.0.1 &
x3270 -model 3279-2 00C0@127.0.0.1 &

Then IPL 150 in the Hercules window to get the S/370 or S/390 or zSeries operating system running (at approx 1.7MIPS).

Note: Don't complain to me if IBM try to sue you for breaching the terms of their software licences or hardware licenced internal code because you're running something that can't ever be licenced to run under Hercules.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

esbpgen
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:02 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:37 pm

Thank you very much Dougie I really appreciate the response. i'll Google git clone as I haven't come across that before. I assume it's a command to fetch from the web! Thanks again iris very much appreciated.

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:15 am

Read some of the recent issues of The MagPi Magazine http://themagpi.com (I think from issue #26) there's a few articles about GIT and how it is used for source code management.

https://guides.github.com/

There's an online tutorial at https://try.github.com
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

diederik
Posts: 391
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:17 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Tue Dec 23, 2014 12:41 am

This is a good book/intro into git as well: http://www.git-scm.com/book/en/v2

esbpgen
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 12:02 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Thu Jan 15, 2015 5:27 pm

@DougieLawson - Thank you very much for the files! Much appreciated!

@DieDerik - thanks for the link.

Ik0adr
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 6:32 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:39 pm

DougieLawson wrote:Clone the git stuff
sudo apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/DougieLawson/x3270-4-RaspberryPi
cd x3270*
sudo cp * /usr/local/bin

startx # so you get a desktop

Open a lxterminal window

hercules mvs.cnf &
x3270 -model 3279-2 0010@127.0.0.1 &
x3270 -model 3279-2 00C0@127.0.0.1 &

Then IPL 150 in the Hercules window to get the S/370 or S/390 or zSeries operating system running (at approx 1.7MIPS).
Hi Dougie and all.
I am trying to install hercules etc, but I am not able to get hercules running.
Upon "hercules mvs.cnf &", I only get this:
-------------
(c)Copyright 1999-2010 by Roger Bowler, Jan Jaeger, and others
Built on Jul 24 2012 at 18:18:24
Build information:
Debian
Modes: S/370 ESA/390 z/Arch
Max CPU Engines: 8
Using setresuid() for setting privileges
Dynamic loading support
Using shared libraries
HTTP Server support
Regular Expressions support
Automatic Operator support
National Language Support
Machine dependent assists: (none)
Running on raspberrypi Linux-3.18.7+.#755 PREEMPT Thu Feb 12 17:14:31 GMT 2015 armv6l UP
HHCHD018I Loadable module directory is /usr/lib/hercules
Crypto module loaded (c) Copyright Bernard van der Helm, 2003-2010
Active: Message Security Assist
Message Security Assist Extension 1
Message Security Assist Extension 2
usage: hercules [-f config-filename] [-d] [-b logo-filename] [-p dyn-load-dir] [[-l dynmod-to-load]...] [> logfile]
HHCIN900I Begin Hercules shutdown
HHCIN901I Releasing configuration
HHCIN902I Configuration release complete
HHCIN903I Calling termination routines
HHCHD900I Begin shutdown sequence
HHCHD901I Calling hdl_term
HHCHD950I Begin HDL termination sequence
HHCHD951I Calling module *Hercules cleanup routine
HHCHD952I Module *Hercules cleanup complete
HHCHD959I HDL Termination sequence complete
HHCHD902I hdl_term complete
HHCHD901I Calling logger_term
HHCLG014I logger thread terminating
HHCHD902I logger_term complete
HHCHD909I Shutdown sequence complete
HHCIN904I All termination routines complete
HHCIN909I Hercules shutdown complete
HHCHD900I Begin shutdown sequence
HHCHD909I Shutdown sequence complete
----------

I am sure I am missing something. Could someone point me in the right direction?
Thanks,

--Federico

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Mon Mar 16, 2015 5:55 pm

Have you built your systems disks and config file and installed from the "starter system"? Or are you trying a "turnkey" system running? http://www.bsp-gmbh.com/turnkey/

The whole install runs to about 1.9GB. I've got my Hercules system on an 8GB SDCard (with a single ext4 partition) that gets mounted in a USB reader.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

eruptionchaser
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:43 pm

I've got most of the foregoing working, but one problem.

x3270 works fine, but what I really want to do is run c3270 without all the x chrome. I can start c3270, but when I try to connect it complains 'emulator won't fit on a 40x60 display'... any clues? It WILL bloody fit, because it works fine in x...

Thanks

Mike

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:50 pm

I've just built c3270 and it's working for me.

Start hercules with
hercules -f mvs.cnf

Start a console session on device 0010
c3270 0010@192.168.1.xxx:3270

Start a TSO user session on device 00c0
c3270 00c0@192.168.1.xxx:3270


The ipl the hercules system with an ipl 150 command to the emulator
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

eruptionchaser
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 12:33 pm

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:56 pm

Thanks Dougie but I'm not - at this point - using Hercules; I'm just connecting c3270 to a public system on the internet to test it. Or trying to....

Mike

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Sat Apr 11, 2015 2:59 pm

eruptionchaser wrote:Thanks Dougie but I'm not - at this point - using Hercules; I'm just connecting c3270 to a public system on the internet to test it. Or trying to....

Mike
Are you able to test it with hercules?
Or send me details of your public system (by PM) and I'll give that a go. [If you'd trust an old hacker like me.]
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

User avatar
dliloch
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:28 pm
Location: cleveland, ohio usa

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:22 pm

I have noticed that although hercules is able to be installed via apt-get install
x3270,c3270 are not located .. is it possible to have them install-able via apt-get too???
here is my error message:
pi@raspbiaplus ~/Downloads $ sudo apt-get install x3270
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Package x3270 is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'x3270' has no installation candidate
pi@raspbiaplus ~/Downloads $
thanks
-don

User avatar
DougieLawson
Posts: 35793
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: Basingstoke, UK
Contact: Website Twitter

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:29 pm

I've got a working version of x3270 at: https://github.com/DougieLawson/x3270-4-RaspberryPi

I've built c3270 from source, but haven't added that to my git repo.
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

User avatar
dliloch
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 6:28 pm
Location: cleveland, ohio usa

Re: 3270 Emulator HELP

Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:36 pm

thanks Dougie.. that will work .. I started to try and do a make of x3270 and kept getting one pre-req after another ...
I don't see this site mentioned here so I will put this link in ... tk4- is an extremely automated mvs38j image using hercules hyperion 4. It fully supports the raspberry pi old and v2 .. worth looking at ...

http://wotho.ethz.ch/tk4-/

Return to “Raspbian”