bgirardot
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:20 am
Location: Switzerland

Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Thu Nov 15, 2012 4:38 pm

I just managed to boot the latest Raspbian (2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian.img) on my windows xp 32bit os and thought I would put the steps down here in case anyone else wants to try it.

I did not get networking working, but I have not tried yet, but it didn't work right out of the box.

Based on the directions found here:
QEMU – Emulating Raspberry Pi the easy way (Linux or Windows!)

I downloaded QEMU for Windows from here:
http://lassauge.free.fr/qemu/
I downloaded the file marked "Qemu-1.2.0-windows.zip (36M) (NEW) "

I extracted it into a folder and then downloaded this file:
http://xecdesign.com/downloads/linux-qemu/kernel-qemu
and placed it in the qemu directory

Then I downloaded the 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian.img file from the Raspberry downloads page and extracted it, also into the same qemu folder.

I opened the windows command line and cd'd into the qemu folder and used this command line to boot:

Code: Select all

qemu-system-armw.exe -kernel kernel-qemu -cpu arm1176 -m 256 -M versatilepb -no-reboot -serial stdio -append "root=/dev/sda2 panic=1" -hda 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian.img
And it booted right up. There are some failures in the boot process, but that is to be expected I guess.

What I do not have worked out yet is the networking, any advice on that will be appreciated, but as I said, I have not really tried to get it working yet.

User avatar
PIstolero
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 6:28 am
Location: paradise city, where the grass is green and the girls are pretty

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Tue Nov 20, 2012 4:31 pm

Networking is working out of the box, you should access to the iNet, only problem it is like behind a NAT, see here:
http://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Netw ... 28SLIRP.29
If you want to access your VM, redirect the ports like here:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 85#p145885
or use a TAP device (look at the answer of Joe Schmoe in this Thread)

bgirardot
Posts: 517
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 6:20 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:13 pm

PIstolero wrote:Networking is working out of the box, you should access to the iNet, only problem it is like behind a NAT, see here:
http://wiki.qemu.org/Documentation/Netw ... 28SLIRP.29
If you want to access your VM, redirect the ports like here:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 85#p145885
or use a TAP device (look at the answer of Joe Schmoe in this Thread)
Wow, very helpful, thank you very much.

Right after I did the install I gave the OpenVPN Tap provider a half harted try and it didn't work, but I fully intend to give it a full try soon, this will really be helpful, thank you again.

mac586
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 8:13 pm

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Sun Nov 25, 2012 8:26 pm

I followed this setup on Mac OSX 10.8.2 with some minor tweaks. I installed qemu using Fink; and created the directory ~/Downloads/rpi for kernel-qemu and 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspian.img

After changing directories to ~/Downloads/rpi I issued the following command:

qemu-system-arm -kernel kernel-qemu -cpu arm1176 -m 256 -M versatilepb -no-reboot -serial stdio -append "root=/dev/sda2 panic=1" -hda 2012-10-28-wheezy-raspbian.img

The image runs fine, and has networking. Very little work to check out Raspian! The display window is tiny however.

bilbo_b
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 12:22 pm

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Wed Jan 02, 2013 10:16 am

When i will emulate a 512MB Raspberry Pi, i have changed the line to -m 512. But with this, QEMU doenst start the image. How can i emulate a 512MB PI?

efflandt
Posts: 359
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2012 2:47 am
Location: Elgin, IL USA

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Fri Jan 04, 2013 12:50 am

The kernel for qemu in the first link in the original post is apparently hard coded for -m 256, so at this time you cannot change it from that. However, none of that is being used for gpu_mem, so it is sort of like having a 512 MB Pi set for gpu_mem=256. If you need more memory the author suggests using a swapfile. That would require making the Raspian image larger, because there is not much free space on the original image.

themaxou
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:36 pm

Re: Booting Raspbian Wheezy via QEMU on Windows XP

Wed Jan 16, 2013 8:37 pm

anyway to change the resolution ?

Return to “Raspbian”