trajon211
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 1:06 pm

Boots to GUI, no SSH

Wed May 03, 2017 1:15 pm

I have been running a headless raspian pi for a while now, connecting only via SSH keys.

Sometime in the last week, I can no longer SSH in... so I hooked up a monitor to it, booted, and it goes into GUI (with just a wastebasket icon) rather than the terminal.

What could have happened to get it like this? And how can I fix it?

...

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5901
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Boots to GUI, no SSH

Wed May 03, 2017 10:05 pm

Ctrl+Alt+F1 should still give you the console if you have a keyboard connected.

trajon211
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Boots to GUI, no SSH

Thu May 04, 2017 12:21 pm

I'll give that a try today, thanks.

Any idea why this would have happened? I mean, even if there was an autoupdate, I can't believe that it would have made these changes...

User avatar
topguy
Posts: 5901
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:46 am
Location: Trondheim, Norway

Re: Boots to GUI, no SSH

Thu May 04, 2017 1:12 pm

A corrupt SD-card might also cause this, but its just speculation.

trajon211
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 1:06 pm

Re: Boots to GUI, no SSH

Thu May 04, 2017 6:57 pm

Although if that was the case, I wouldn't be able to connect to its openvpn server that is running right?

stderr
Posts: 2178
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 11:29 pm

Re: Boots to GUI, no SSH

Thu May 04, 2017 7:36 pm

trajon211 wrote:Any idea why this would have happened? I mean, even if there was an autoupdate, I can't believe that it would have made these changes...
What changes? R. jessie supports booting to a command line or to the GUI and with or without prompting for a password. You say you were booting headlessly, how do you know it hasn't always booted into the GUI, isn't that the default with the full Jessie product? Now you put a monitor on it and see that it's booting into the GUI. If you don't like this, say you aren't using vnc in way that views the same desktop that you'd see on a plugged in monitor, just change the configuration to boot to a login commandline prompt.

Return to “Raspbian”