Zhendos
Posts: 73
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2015 2:46 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Oct 06, 2015 11:52 am

Well I clicked on the 2 desktop icon, but it said nothing detected.

I think that my Wi-Fi adapter is USB3.0 and isn't supported by Jessie since it worked on Debian Wheezy.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 21075
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Oct 06, 2015 1:00 pm

Zhendos wrote:Well I clicked on the 2 desktop icon, but it said nothing detected.

I think that my Wi-Fi adapter is USB3.0 and isn't supported by Jessie since it worked on Debian Wheezy.
Please post output of:

Code: Select all

lsusb

uname -a
Retired disgracefully.....
This at present is my daily "computer" https://www.asus.com/us/Chrome-Devices/Chromebit-CS10/

User avatar
topshed
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:05 pm
Location: Surrey
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Tue Oct 06, 2015 8:41 pm

Ikaroz wrote:Is there a new space requeriment for Jessie?

I was using a 4GB (3.69GiB) SD Card for Wheezy. The Jessie image has 4.325.376.000 bytes. I tried to write it to the sd card by using dd on linux and got an "no space left on device" error.
You can create a jessie image that will fit on a 4GB SD card if you're willing to delete wolfram and libreoffice and then resize the partition manually. I've written up some instructions on my blog http://richardhayler.blogspot.co.uk/201 ... gb-sd.html
--
Richard Hayler - Citizen Science Programme Manager

samikoo
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 4:56 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:28 pm

MrEngman wrote:It isn't corrupt. The problem will be with your unzipper which cannot handle files bigger than 4GB.

Take a look here viewtopic.php?f=28&t=121867&view=unread#unread.


MrEngman
Actually it is corrupt. Zip does not support files bigger than 4GB -1 byte.

User avatar
kusti8
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:13 pm

samikoo wrote:
MrEngman wrote:It isn't corrupt. The problem will be with your unzipper which cannot handle files bigger than 4GB.

Take a look here viewtopic.php?f=28&t=121867&view=unread#unread.


MrEngman
Actually it is corrupt. Zip does not support files bigger than 4GB -1 byte.
No it is not.

Zip introduced a new standard zip64 for files larger than 4 GB. So zip as a whole does support more than 4GB, you just need something up to date like 7Z.
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

MrEngman
Posts: 3869
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2012 2:17 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:32 pm

samikoo wrote:
MrEngman wrote:It isn't corrupt. The problem will be with your unzipper which cannot handle files bigger than 4GB.

Take a look here viewtopic.php?f=28&t=121867&view=unread#unread.


MrEngman
Actually it is corrupt. Zip does not support files bigger than 4GB -1 byte.
Really, so why does this work.
zip.png
zip.png (26.86 KiB) Viewed 7307 times
zip1.png
zip1.png (51.94 KiB) Viewed 7307 times
Try an up to date zipper program. I use WinZip 18.0 64bit which has no problems zipping files > 4GB


MrEngman
Simplicity is a prerequisite for reliability. Edsger W. Dijkstra

Please post ALL technical questions on the forum. Please Do Not send private messages.

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3475
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:10 pm

samikoo wrote: Actually it is corrupt.
No
Zip does not support files bigger than 4GB -1 byte.
Older versions of the zip standard didn't support it but extensions were introduced over a decade ago to fix that. The fact that some software still doens't seem to have caught up with those extensions doesn't mean the file is corrupt.

User avatar
topshed
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:05 pm
Location: Surrey
Contact: Website

Re: Jessie Q&A

Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:37 pm

Does anyone know how to get a USB sound adapter configured to work with Sonic Pi on Jessie? All the instructions seem out of fate -they refer to editing the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.onf file, but this doesn't exist on Jessie.

My USB sound device is detected as a PnP device and aplay recognises it - how do I get it working?
--
Richard Hayler - Citizen Science Programme Manager

RasPi Dude
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:28 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 08, 2015 1:09 am

How come TightVNC doesn't work anymore after upgrading to Jessie? I upgraded to Jessie using TightVNC, so it was working fine. Now, when I try, TightVNC says that the computer actively refused the connection. Is it the new login screen causing this problem? Please help.

Thanks! :D

SupremeSpod
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:19 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 08, 2015 7:10 am

I'm having problems pairing my bluetooth keyboard under Jessie, any suggestions?

It appears that some of the bluez components have been deprecated.

ve7epq
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 5:03 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:03 pm

Just did a clean install of Jessie on an 8 Ghz card that works with Wheezie. P2.

Boots to the authentication and then fails:

Raspbian GNU/Linux 8 raspberrypi tty1
raspberrpi login: pi (automatic login)
Authentication failure

(loops continuously)

What can I do?

moslemk
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:16 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Thu Oct 08, 2015 6:26 pm

[Scroll down! I just edited this post with an UPDATE which seems to be the right fix]

I noticed that the newly released jessie (09-24-2015) does not support the OpenGL hardware rasterizing and whenever one tries to open a display using OpenCV it fails and gives the following warning:

GdkGLExt-WARNING **: Window system doesn't support OpenGL.

As a temporary solution to get things going I resorted to software rasterizing by installing libgl1-mesa-swx11:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-swx11
This will replace the libgl1-mesa-glx which is supposed to enable the OpenGL the hardware rasterizing, but it does not! Using software rasterizing might lead to some performance drop but it was not noticeable for my case.
I hope the Raspberry Pi community find a better fix soon.

UPDATE: [discard the above fix] After more digging I found out that the gl DRI modules are not available on the newly released jessie. For that you need to install libgl1-mesa-dri and make sure you reboot before testing it:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri
Now reboot and test by opening an opencv display in python. e.g. by running:

Code: Select all

python -c "import cv2; cv2.namedWindow(\"display\")"

CraigV
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue May 21, 2013 11:45 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:02 am

Thank you moslemk. This fixed my problem mentioned a few days ago about Avogadro not working in Jessie. Perhaps libgl1-mesa-dri should be made a dependency for the Avogadro package among others that use OpenGL.
UPDATE: [discard the above fix] After more digging I found out that the gl DRI modules are not available on the newly released jessie. For that you need to install libgl1-mesa-dri and make sure you reboot before testing it:

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri
Craig

jimla
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:19 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 3:08 am

Cannot login using SSH after installing Raspbian Jessie. I tried "ssh pi@nnn.nnn.n.n" and my password entry is rejected.

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3085
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 8:32 pm

Is the Foundation's jessie image still mastered using spindle, and is there a more up-to-date repository than https://github.com/rpi-distro/spindle?

I do not want to build my own images, but if I spot any problems in the recommended ones I would like to be able to investigate them, and know where to submit pull requests or issues.

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6080
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:15 pm

jojopi wrote:Is the Foundation's jessie image still mastered using spindle, and is there a more up-to-date repository than https://github.com/rpi-distro/spindle?

I do not want to build my own images, but if I spot any problems in the recommended ones I would like to be able to investigate them, and know where to submit pull requests or issues.
Apologies for the lack of updates.

I have written my own scripts which are much simpler and more maintainable (for me, at least). I'll upload that some time next week.

Woll
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:14 am
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 9:54 pm

When I change the font size to 16-32, it only makes the fonts larger when its booting up.
If I'm in Python Shell or Terminal its the same small font size which is hard for me to see.
The link below worked OK in wheezy.

http://www.raspberrypi-spy.co.uk/2014/0 ... font-size/

Out of interest, does any one know how to make the pointer size bigger? I can't find anything on Google. I like the overall Jessie improvements thou. :D
Who ate all the Pi's? Who ate all the Pi's?
Boris Johnson, Boris Johnson,
Who ate all the Pi's?

Woll
Posts: 472
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2015 2:14 am
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: Jessie Q&A

Fri Oct 09, 2015 10:24 pm

Okay I'm feeling a bit of a doughnut as I've figured it out.
But in Wheezy it updated Python Shell and Terminal using the above link. ;)
Who ate all the Pi's? Who ate all the Pi's?
Boris Johnson, Boris Johnson,
Who ate all the Pi's?

Toby-1-kenobi
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 5:23 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 5:32 am

Has it been replaced by anything?
DougieLawson wrote:It's no surprise. The pistore has been dead since January 2015.

User avatar
kusti8
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:21 am

Toby-1-kenobi wrote:Has it been replaced by anything?
DougieLawson wrote:It's no surprise. The pistore has been dead since January 2015.
No, but there's always the repo.
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

Bosse_B
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:25 pm

How to add main Menu items in Jessie?
I have just installed Free-Pascal and Lazarus IDE from sources retrieved with svn in a fresh Raspbian Jessie and contrary to how the final result was in Wheezy using the exact same installation steps there is no Menu/Programming/Lazarus item in Jessie.
It seems like something has changed between Wheezy and Jessie regarding how start menu items are added on program installation.

So now I would like to know how one can manually add the lazarus-ide item to the start menu?
I can use Menu/Run... to then enter lazarus-ide in order to start Lazarus but it is really clumsy, I would prefer having it on the Menu itself.

Needless to say I am a pretty inexperienced Linux user, especially regarding the desktop.
Bo Berglund
Sweden

Preceptor
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 19, 2013 3:46 pm

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 1:33 pm

Guys, there is something wrong with the apt-get dependencies.
I just installed a new fresh image and I was starting to remove the useless software, to make it a headless server. I started with x11-common... take a look at the error it printed :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge x11-common
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
 ca-certificates-java : Depends: openjdk-6-jre-headless (>= 6b16-1.6.1-2) but it is not installable or
                                 java6-runtime-headless
 openjdk-7-jdk : Depends: openjdk-7-jre (= 7u79-2.5.6-1~deb8u1+rpi1) but it is not going to be installed
                 Recommends: libxt-dev but it is not going to be installed
E: Error, pkgProblemResolver::Resolve generated breaks, this may be caused by held packages.
I try to remove each of the java packages and none of them comes installed...
What is wrong?

electronicman
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:31 pm
Location: USA

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 4:08 pm

I have just tried jessie, and found a few glitches.

Added Filezilla, which appears in the menu OK, but I cannot find it in the Application Launch Bar list of Apps.

Tried to set the localisation keyboard to US English in the GUI but it does not stay, appears to revert to Spanish. However using Raspi-config, it works OK

Tried to set up Tightvnc with similar problems that others have found.
David

Bosse_B
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 4:18 pm

electronicman wrote: Tried to set up Tightvnc with similar problems that others have found.
I installed tightvncserver and started it (to set the password).
I also created a vnc.sh script file to start it manually on display :1 (cannot use :0 because the hardware GUI uses that).
These are the steps I took (from my notes):

Code: Select all

If you run as root then go back to the pi home prompt:
exit
cd ~

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install -y tightvncserver
tightvncserver
(enter access password)

Start server on display :1 as pi (Using display :1 allows thePi to boot on to the GUI)
--------------------------------
vncserver :1 -geometry 1400x1000 -depth 24 -dpi 96

Verify that VNC is accessible from Windows using TightVNC client on port 5901

Create start script for VNC
---------------------------
nano vnc.sh
content:

#!/bin/sh
vncserver :1 -geometry 1400x1000 -depth 24 -dpi 96

 - make the file executable:
   chmod +x vnc.sh

You can now start VNC manually by executing the script in the pi home dir:
./vnc.sh
I can now start VNC by logging on to the Pi after reboot using PuTTY and run ./vnc.sh
Then I can use VNC on my Win PC on port 5901 to use the Pi GUI.

What I did not succeed in doing is to start the vnc server at boot time.
That is a Jessie problem...
Bo Berglund
Sweden

Massi
Posts: 1691
Joined: Fri May 02, 2014 1:52 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Jessie Q&A

Sat Oct 10, 2015 9:04 pm

Hello
on my second raspberry i've started a brand new jessie install
as expected, i'm not a systemd friend :lol:

on wheezy i had some services created in this way
http://blog.scphillips.com/posts/2013/0 ... e-on-boot/
to have my python scripts "daemonized", and all was ok.

Now, the first thing i've migrated is the pigpiod service file.
So i put it in the init.d folder and updated rc-d

as always done..

but: sudo service pigpiod start doesn't return anything (no success, no error)
sudo services pigpiod status return this:

Code: Select all

pi@jessie /etc/init.d $ sudo service pigpiod status
● pigpiod.service - LSB: PIGPIO service
   Loaded: loaded (/etc/init.d/pigpiod)
   Active: active (exited) since Sat 2015-10-10 20:52:52 UTC; 1min 2s ago
  Process: 1616 ExecStart=/etc/init.d/pigpiod start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)

Oct 10 20:52:52 jessie pigpiod[1616]: Starting system pigpiod daemon:process already running.
Oct 10 20:52:52 jessie pigpiod[1616]: failed!
Oct 10 20:52:52 jessie systemd[1]: Started LSB: PIGPIO service.
Oct 10 20:53:22 jessie systemd[1]: Started LSB: PIGPIO service.
and pigpiod is not running (and was not running before the call, i can't understand that "process already running")

what am i missing?

Return to “Raspbian”