fraz0815

Building Kodi on Pi 2

Tue Feb 24, 2015 11:02 pm

Hello,
since my Pi 2 arrived I started playing around with it and since I couldn't find any up2date guides for compiling kodi natively, I wrote one.

This is actual not very stable, if you want to use your pi 2 mainly with kodi, use Openelec/Raspbmc/Osmc/xbian (all are highly optimized and have lots of features).
But for the fun of compiling and learning some stuff read further :-) To be honest I thought it would be lot easier....

I did not test much after compiling besides normal features, but exiting likes to crash, and probably tons of of other things.

I tried to comment as much as I could, it does compile and should give you some idea what is needed to compile kodi on raspbian (debian wheezy) and what options you have.

Feel free to test or make suggestions.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8nSlx ... sp=sharing
or direct link to file
http://not-guild.de/temp/kodi.txt

Edit:
Ok, build seems pretty stable, exiting fails after a video was played, probably kodi bug, taking some logs and maybe kodi team can fix, workaround with a cronjob wich kills kodi.bin here: http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 3&t=100811

:edit2
direct link added, also kodi exit bug is fixed in kodi 15 Isengard

:edit3
changed branch to Isengard and new libcec instructions
Last edited by fraz0815 on Sat Jul 18, 2015 1:02 pm, edited 4 times in total.

rpi25

Re: Building Kodi on Pi 2

Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:06 am

Cool! Thanks for the guide.

Another option to get Kodi running in Raspbian is to add this guy's archive, he hosts a debian package of Kodi compiled on Raspbian:

http://michael.gorven.za.net/

I've been surprisingly pleased with it, in some ways I think it almost runs more smoothly than Raspbmc did, with all my other background services running.

fruitoftheloom

Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:44 am

adieu

My other Computer is an Asus CS10 ChromeBit running Chrome Operating System.