Page 1 of 1

Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:05 pm
by moos3
I'm working on building a cluster of pi's. I'm trying to find a power solution for powering 4+ pis. I was thinking a DAC but I need to interface with 208v 30A power. I'm open to suggestions.

Does anyone know how much power the pi draws ?

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 1:49 pm
by aTao
The old way to go would have been to build a monster +5V rail, but days have changed...
Probably favourite now would be an intermediate ~12V psu then a DC/DC converter for each RPi
RPis take 0.75~1A each

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 2:09 pm
by plugwash
Assuming no power hungry perhipherals I'd assume 1A at 5V for each Pi. It's a bit of an overestimate but it's better to overestimate than underestimate on this stuff.

For 5 Pis i'd probablly just buy a standard 5V 5A power supply and wire it out to the Pis.

Modern switched mode power supplies should have no problem with 208V but I would want to include fuses in-line if connecting them to a 30A supply.

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:42 pm
by moos3
Yeah I was thinking a 5V rail or using a 90W micro atx power supply. Bascially these are going to be serial to ip systems. So I'm looking for something that I can connect to my 208V power in our datacenter.



Thanks

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:53 pm
by raspifari
try to find an old computer internal power supplie I have one of power mac G5 It can output 5V 25A

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:57 pm
by Jim JKla
I have several I am looking for a source of cables or even just plugs to allow me to put a RPi on the end of the PC PSU Molex plugs.

ie. Quickly/Cheaply I am not looking for a soldering project

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2014 8:59 pm
by fruitoftheloom

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:40 am
by plugwash
If he has 208V in his datacenter he is probablly in north america so linking to amazon.co.uk is of limited use ;)

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 12:51 am
by moos3
Yes I'm in the North America. I'm ok with a soldering project to make the rail for the 5v part just need to figure how to wire the Ian connector to the molex

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:12 am
by plugwash
How about something like mouser part number 709-GS40A05-P1J. 5V 5A universal input power brick with an IEC inlet (I'm guessing you are using IECs to distribute the 208V power to servers?)

You'd have to cut off the outlet plug and solder on some micro USB cables but that shouldn't be a massive deal

As for actually connecting to Pis the easiest way is probablly to chop up a micro USB cable, red wire is 5V, black wire is ground, green and white are the data lines (the Pi doesn't care about these but if you want to be able to charge phones then connect them together).

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:26 am
by fruitoftheloom
plugwash wrote:If he has 208V in his datacenter he is probablly in north america so linking to amazon.co.uk is of limited use ;)
That is what happens with lack of information in post, why not put location in profile ?? :roll:


http://www.amazon.com/Family-Sized-Desk ... 422&sr=1-2

100-240 volt input

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 1:33 pm
by SirNight
Get a good power supply,
I run 200 Raspberry cluster.. each power supply powers 40 Raspberries.
My power supply is 220v in / 5v out 60A

but you need to get a good brand, this is just an example link : http://rgb-123.com/product/5v-60a-power-supply/

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:36 am
by Besut
SirNight wrote:Get a good power supply,
I run 200 Raspberry cluster.. each power supply powers 40 Raspberries.
My power supply is 220v in / 5v out 60A

but you need to get a good brand, this is just an example link : http://rgb-123.com/product/5v-60a-power-supply/
Is it possible to further explain how did you distribute the power to each RPI? GPIO/USB?

I am thinking of using multiple pi+camera arrays, which need to be positioned at some distance from each other, still trying to find alternative solution. One method was to splice ethernet twice, to inject & to GPIO, a bit complex, appreciate your insight if there's easier solution, thanks

Re: Power multiple pi's

Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2014 10:05 am
by plugwash
Besut wrote: I am thinking of using multiple pi+camera arrays, which need to be positioned at some distance from each other, still trying to find alternative solution. One method was to splice ethernet twice, to inject & to GPIO, a bit complex, appreciate your insight if there's easier solution, thanks
Can you quantify "some distance"?