Ninjafishleg

An idea for a light switch.

Tue May 27, 2014 10:19 am

Hi,
I had an idea where I would take my light switch apart and attach my raspberry pi up to it using the gpio pins. I thought it would be awesome because then I could use SSH to control my light wirelessly. However I am not very good at circuitry and cannot think of a way of making a switch that I can turn on and off with the Pi. I dont know if that makes much sense so I have a image below that hopefully clears things up a bit. Also, by the way, I am currently just turning my light on by putting a wire between the white one and the black one and completing the circuit.

Also, if someone has done this before - I'm sure they have - could you send a link so I could see how they done it. I am rubbish at electricity because I am 14 and haven't even done it in shool yet! This is my way of getting a head start.

Thanks!

Ps: this is my first time posting so I am sorry if I broke any forum rules, please tell me if I have!

DeeJay

Re: An idea for a light switch.

Tue May 27, 2014 10:30 am

No image visible.

If you are talking about controlling a real domestic lighting installation, be aware that MAINS VOLTAGES ARE LETHAL AND CAN KILL PEOPLE.

Less importantly, connecting mains voltages to the GPIO pins of your RPi will also kill your RPi.

Don't take your light switch apart unless you know what you are doing - your suggestion indicates that you do not have the level of knowledge you need to keep yourself and other people in your house safe.
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way: http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
How to Report Bugs Effectively: http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html

Ninjafishleg

Tue May 27, 2014 10:43 am

Thanks for the reply but I have my Father watching over me and I am being extra careful to turn the fuse box off before doing anything and he is supervising and turning the fuse box back on for me.