User avatar
Liber
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact: ICQ

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Wed Jun 12, 2013 4:51 am

Hi,

Is there any way how to use GPU of Raspberry Pi for BOINC calculations ? It could be great aid for its weak CPU.
Last edited by Liber on Wed Jun 12, 2013 7:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
dcarrion87
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:51 am
Location: Australia

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Wed Jun 12, 2013 5:21 am

I believe there are ways but there doesn't seem to be friendly APIs available for these sort of applications. I believe the Broadcom chipset doesn't have any OpenCL API available? The likes of Mali GPUs all have their newer generations supporting OpenCL http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mali_(GPU).

I guess you could do something in OpenGL or OpenVG but not sure how efficient the app would be. I really don't know too much about this topic. I suspect there's other forum posts regarding utilisation of GPU for computing.

It would be interesting to see if anyone out there has written any BOINC applications to utilise the GPU onboard.

User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Zulia, Venezuela
Contact: Website

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Fri Jul 05, 2013 6:25 pm

Hello to all RPi enthusiast:

I have been running Boinc in my RPi for a while, with good results :D (Thanks dcarrion87), but I would to know how if there is any text file that I can consult or read from my RPi webpage (http://yv1hx.no-ip.org/) with the sole purpose of know the workunit process status (estimated/remaining time will be ok).

Thanks in advance.
Marco-Luis
Telecom Specialist (Now Available for Hire!)

http://www.meteoven.org
http://yv1hx.ddns.net
http://twitter.com/yv1hx

User avatar
dcarrion87
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:51 am
Location: Australia

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sat Jul 06, 2013 2:29 am

yv1hx wrote:Hello to all RPi enthusiast:

I have been running Boinc in my RPi for a while, with good results :D (Thanks dcarrion87), but I would to know how if there is any text file that I can consult or read from my RPi webpage (http://yv1hx.no-ip.org/) with the sole purpose of know the workunit process status (estimated/remaining time will be ok).

Thanks in advance.
There's a few ways that I think you could do this:

1. Have some sort of CGI script that interrogates /var/lib/<boinc_folder>/client_state.xml. Read in appropriate active task tags. Alternatively have the script run "boinccmd --get_tasks" and format appropriately. E.g. boinccmd --get_tasks gives you this sort of output (note the fraction done):

Code: Select all

======== Tasks ========
1) -----------
   name: mini_collatz_2380212272536631355752_103079215104_2
   WU name: mini_collatz_2380212272536631355752_103079215104
   project URL: http://boinc.thesonntags.com/collatz/
   report deadline: Sat Jul 13 12:16:38 2013
   ready to report: no
   got server ack: no
   final CPU time: 0.000000
   state: 2
   scheduler state: 2
   exit_status: 0
   signal: 0
   suspended via GUI: no
   active_task_state: 1
   app version num: 202
   checkpoint CPU time: 1430.385000
   current CPU time: 1469.688000
   fraction done: 0.095723
   swap size: 18427904.000000
   working set size: 17428480.000000
   estimated CPU time remaining: 14854.815350
2) -----------
2. Same as above but instead run this as a scheduled job using cron or other scheduler and have it dump somewhere for reading from dynamic web page. This method is probably more in-line with what you're doing on that page. I suspect those graphs are getting updated by some scheduled task or daemon.

I think option 2 would be more secure as the web daemon isn't running privileged boinccmd or reading /var/lib/<boinc_folder> directly.

I believe there's already web interfaces available that hook into BOINC APIs. Might be easier to load one of those up and have it as a sub directory. E.g. http://yv1hx.no-ip.org/boinc. Although, I suspect this will provide access to the world that you don't want them having so either lock it down or reduce the functionality. I assume you are already aware of the risks surrounding presentation of such things externally so I won't go on about that. The only thing I do suggest is make sure your Pi is lockdown from the rest of your computers on it's local network.

Hope that gives you some ideas...

Cheers

Daniel

User avatar
Liber
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:31 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact: ICQ

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sun Jul 07, 2013 11:01 am

Hi,

I have installed a BOINC via apt-get install ... and one thing seems to me very weird. There is written version "x86" in menu "about ". But Raspberry Pi has AMR CPU, hasn't it ?
Attachments
snímek2.jpeg
snímek2.jpeg (20.69 KiB) Viewed 4466 times

User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Zulia, Venezuela
Contact: Website

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Mon Aug 05, 2013 9:28 pm

Hello Fellas,

A couple of days ago, my RPi finished a SETI@Home task, I was aware of this because the SoC was below from the usual usage figure, but today while checking the BOINC manager, I was shocked with this message:

Your app_info.xml doesn't have a usable version of SETI@home v7 (See attached screen capture)

What could be occurred? My RPi was happy processing tasks without any complains. :?
SETI_Error_Message.png
Your app_info.xml doesn't have a usable version of SETI@home v7
SETI_Error_Message.png (50.77 KiB) Viewed 4412 times
Marco-Luis
Telecom Specialist (Now Available for Hire!)

http://www.meteoven.org
http://yv1hx.ddns.net
http://twitter.com/yv1hx

User avatar
dcarrion87
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 9:51 am
Location: Australia

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Tue Aug 06, 2013 7:17 am

yv1hx wrote:Hello Fellas,

A couple of days ago, my RPi finished a SETI@Home task, I was aware of this because the SoC was below from the usual usage figure, but today while checking the BOINC manager, I was shocked with this message:

Your app_info.xml doesn't have a usable version of SETI@home v7 (See attached screen capture)

What could be occurred? My RPi was happy processing tasks without any complains. :?
SETI_Error_Message.png
Are you using the new app package for the new client available from here? I tried reattaching using these and it was fine.

User avatar
yv1hx
Posts: 372
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2012 10:09 pm
Location: Zulia, Venezuela
Contact: Website

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:25 pm

dcarrion87 wrote:...snip....

Are you using the new app package for the new client available from here? I tried reattaching using these and it was fine.
Daniel,

In fact, I was suspecting that my client was refusing to accept new task because it was outdated, so installed the new version from your web site and reattached the project, for some estrange reason took about two hours or so to reattach and start crunching data.

At this time everything seems to be running ok, many thanks!!!
Marco-Luis
Telecom Specialist (Now Available for Hire!)

http://www.meteoven.org
http://yv1hx.ddns.net
http://twitter.com/yv1hx

TantariKim
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:57 pm

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Mon Aug 26, 2013 1:00 pm

I have a Raspberry Pi running the latest version of Raspbian. I make sure to update the packages on it every few weeks or so.

I got BOINC running on it using the instructions here: http://burdeview.blogspot.com/p/raspber ... eated.html

It works very well. I've been running the MilkyWay@Home project for many months and have completed a lot of work units. The problem seems to be that it is doing something that doesn't respect the way nice and priorities work.

As an experiment, I created a program called "waste". It's a simple C program compiled with gcc. The source code is:

Code: Select all

void main()
{
  printf("Runs forever and eats CPU time.\n");
  printf("Press control-c to terminate.\n");

  while (1)
  {
  }
}
When I run "waste" and look at "top", I see that it's using close to 100% of the CPU. I then run another copy of "waste" and see that each one has approximately 50% of the CPU. Then use "renice" to change the priority of one. Now one copy of "waste" is using about 95% of the CPU and the other has about 5%. This is exactly what I expect to happen.

Next I run the BOINC client. I see that I have a job named "milkyway" that has almost 100% of the CPU. It has a priority of 39 and a nice of 19. This means it should be set to the lowest priority in the system. The problem is when I run a copy of "waste", both "milkyway" and "waste" have about 50% of the CPU each. Shouldn't "milkyway" back down to somewhere around 5% and let "waste" have 95% or so? "waste" has a priority of 20 and a nice of 0. What gives? The "milkyway" job is acting like it has a priority of 20. This isn't right.

I tried a few things. I reniced the "milkyway" job up and down and it still used 50% of the CPU. I added another copy of "waste" and now each one is using about 33% of the CPU.

Have anyone seen issues like this before? Can you think of why the scheduler wouldn't be respecting the priority of 39 and giving "milkyway" too much CPU time?

TantariKim
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 26, 2013 12:57 pm

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:01 pm

I figured out the solution to my problem after hitting a lucky Google search. I knew it was something to do with the process scheduler. It turns out that Raspbian by default DOES NOT use the standard Linux process scheduler. It uses the so-called 'miracle patch' that it designed to make it feel more responsive to novice users. The upshot is that it does not respect "nice" properly.

More details here: http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... p?p=276665

I personally don't think this was a good decision on the part of the distribution maintainers, but perhaps they have better arguments than I can think of at the moment. At least they made a way to easily turn it off without recompiling the kernel. From the above link put the following line into /etc/sysctl.d/local.conf:

Code: Select all

kernel.sched_autogroup_enabled = 0
Reboot and you will have a standard scheduler behavior that respect "nice" values. As far as I can tell, it works properly now. When I run "waste", it gets about 98% of the CPU with "milkyway" getting about 1% and miscellaneous system tasks getting the remainder.

KeithSloan
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Fri Feb 07, 2014 1:09 pm

Running my first Einstein@home on the Pi. Got a message in red about notices, but went I click on notices I just get a blank screen. Is this a bug with boinc manager on raspbian pi.

nautilus27
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri May 22, 2015 9:38 pm

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sat Jan 16, 2016 12:15 am

Sorry, this is a bit like resurrecting an old thread but I've been trying to run seti @ home tasks on my Raspberry pi 2 (Raspbian jessie installed) without much success. I installed boinc manager and seti at home package using apt-get and everything seemed to work fine, seti@home works are downloaded and started crunching but later I noticed something odd. There were 2 tasks and they were using only 50% of CPU. The completion time was 105 hours for each work.

It seemed too long for an overclocked Raspberry Pi 2. I would like to fix this but I have no idea where to start. Some on the internet say, the work units that are downloaded this way won't be validated and will cause errors, others talk about how their Raspberry Pi 2 uses seti at home v8 apps. Also there are some people who talk about using the FFT optimisation for seti at home, which uses Raspberry Pi's GPU to accelerate calculations. Only thing I could find about it, is this thread: https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/accele ... g-the-gpu/

.And it doesn't mention how to use it in other apps such as Boinc. It is very confusing. Are there anybody running seti at home tasks on raspberry pi 2?

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 15397
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sat Jan 16, 2016 7:03 am

nautilus27 wrote:I noticed something odd. There were 2 tasks and they were using only 50% of CPU.
That would be about right.

Four cores running flat-out would be 100% CPU. Two tasks using one core each, running flat-out would be 50% of the available CPU usage.

I used to run S@H a long time back on a bunch of x86 systems (and a couple of PPC ones). Used to churn out a few hundred work units a day.

KeithSloan
Posts: 321
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:09 pm

Re: Boinc in Rapsberry?

Sat Jan 16, 2016 8:44 am

You can set the computer use preferences in boincmgr and I think the default is max CPU 50% which would explain your two processors and 50% cpu.

I don't run seti but do have two Raspberry Pi 2B's running einstein@home 24 x 7 x 365 looking for pulsars and gravity waves. They do occasionally have to do a bit of web serving and print serving, plus take pressure readings for my barograph web page.

Return to “General discussion”