Flowwwie

Motor circuit suggestions

Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:04 pm

Does anyone see anything wrong with this circuit? Also where should point "C" go? to the RPi ground or the battery -ve? Also does anyone have any suggestions for the NPN transistor? I am a noob so any help is greatly appreciated thanks Image

Ravenous

Re: Motor circuit suggestions

Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:25 pm

Your picture is far too small for me to read :)

If you look at this (page 12):

http://www.picaxe.com/docs/picaxe_manual3.pdf

Is that what you wanted?

(That manual has a few other examples too - worth a quick read.)

joan

Mon Dec 23, 2013 2:26 pm

I think you'll need to post a bigger image. I couldn't make out any detail.

Tage

Mon Dec 23, 2013 4:40 pm

point C (the emitter of the transistor in this case) should be connected both to Pi GND (so the base-emitter current can return to the 5V supply) and to the negative terminal of you battery (so the motor current through the collector-emitter can return to the battery).
I assume you have a diode connected from collector to the positive terminal of the battery, (so the motor current has somewhere to go when the transistor turns off).

without knowing anything about the motor it is impossible to give advice on a transistor, but if the motor is small it could be any npn transistor that can handle the motor current. it is a good idea if it has a high gain (hfe) so that it does not require much base current. the GPIO has very limited drive capability and you should not try to pull more than a few milliamperes from each pin.

if the motor is large (more than 500mA) it is better to use an n-channel MOSFET that has very low gate threshold voltage so it can drive the motor current with 3.3V gate voltage. you should keep a resistor from the GPIO to the gate to protect the Pi from current transients caused by the gate capacitance, or in case the MOSFET fails and drain is shorted to gate.